Treasure Chest.

Bought a kit to make my own 25-drawer chest. I love how you can use whatever paints, papers and embellishments to decorate and personalise it.

Here’s mine. It’s as much ‘woodworking’ as I’m going to get, I think. 

First I painted the individual wood pieces
First I painted the individual wood pieces

 

After each of the 3 coats of paint and 1 coat of varnish had dried completely, assemble it.
After each of the 3 coats of paint and 1 coat of varnish had dried completely, assemble it.

 

I painted the inside of the 25 cardboard box-pieces gold.
I painted the inside of the 25 cardboard box-pieces gold.

 

Stamped the inside of each box with black solvent-based ink.
Stamped the inside of each box with black solvent-based ink.

 

Glued the edges of the boxes, rubber-banded whilst drying
Glued the edges of the boxes, rubber-banded whilst drying.

 

Cover the outside of the boxes with coordinating papers.
Cover the outside of the boxes with coordinating papers.

 

The theme I chose was vintage nostalgia.
The theme I chose was vintage nostalgia.

 

Put all the boxes into the chest :)
Put all the boxes into the chest :)

 

Some boxes/drawers are embellished with metal charms, stickers and wooden shapes. Edges are lined with a gold paint pen.
Some boxes/drawers are embellished with metal charms, stickers and wooden shapes. Edges are lined with a gold paint pen.

 

Place little gifts, memories, emphema or collected items in each of the boxes :D
Place little gifts, memories, emphema or collected items in each of the boxes :D

 

I have plans to make another one of these! Alot of work involved in this project, but I like the end result. Alot.

 

Leave a Reply

