Spiralled Flight.

When I received an acrylic necklace hanging box from my friend for my birthday, I knew exactly what I wanted to do with it. 

Beautiful gold-accented Japnanese origami papers
Beautiful gold-accented Japanese origami papers

 

Attach fishing lines to each of the 12 hooks
Attach fishing lines to each of the 12 hooks

 

I knotted the fishing line around the rod, secured with clear elastics and crimp beads
I knotted the fishing line around the rod, secured with clear elastics and crimp beads

 

Of course I'm making cranes. What else? :D
Of course I’m making cranes. What else? :D

 

Attached beads and cranes with crimp beads
Attached beads and cranes with crimp beads

 

With every line across, attach the bead/crane further down to create a spiral effect
With every line across, attach the bead/crane further down to create a spiral effect

 

I've collected these gold-accented enamel beads for ages and finally got to use them!
I’ve collected these gold-accented enamel beads for ages and finally got to use them!

 

Finished - but I really should have measured the increments rather than eyeballing it. So wonky :'D
Finished – but I really should have measured the increments rather than eyeballing it. So wonky :’D

 

Added some more clear beads and wire at the top to fill in the void
Added some more clear beads and wire at the top to fill in the void

 

Double spiral effect - the beads and cranes form a double helix..theoretically haha
Double spiral effect – the beads and cranes form a double helix..theoretically haha

 

Clear beads at the bottom - essential to weigh the lines down so they stay straight
Clear beads at the bottom – essential to weigh the lines down so they stay straight

 

Finished, and placed in the clear box.
Finished, and placed in the clear box.

 

Lots of things learnt during the process – crimping beads was hard, fishing line breaks, should’ve used a ruler, beads don’t behave…

Also, the cranes look better when they are more spaced out, but less number of cranes would mean less of a spiral created. Still don’t know how many cranes I should’ve used. They look a little crowded there.

Not the best execution, but it was a conceptual project more than anything, an experimental product for bigger things to come :p

May luck and happiness be with you :) 

 

Leave a Reply

