Beaded Portrait.

Did a portrait for a friend, but I can’t paint (like at all), so had to do a craft alternative.

Beads.

This is the original photo.
This is the original photo.

 

Very faintly I drew the outline onto textured white cardstock that will be the background of the final portrait.
Very faintly I drew the outline onto textured white cardstock that will be the background of the final portrait.

 

Start beading! I used regular glossy opaque black beads with the 'hole' side up. And craft glue.
Start beading! I used regular glossy opaque black beads with the ‘hole’ side up. And craft glue.

 

Taking shape. I did the outline first, then filled in the blanks.
Taking shape. I did the outline first, then filled in the blanks.

 

It's convenient that he has black hair and eyes. Monochrome works here...
It’s convenient that he has black hair and eyes. Monochrome works here…

 

Finished product. From this angle, it looks more similar to the picture, while...
Finished product. From this angle, it looks more similar to the picture, while…

 

In a slightly different angle, it looks more like him in real life. Below are some detail shots.
In a slightly different angle, it looks more like him in real life. Below are some detail shots.

 

I used glossy transparent sead beads for shadowing/highlighting some areas
I used glossy transparent sead beads for shadowing/highlighting some areas

 

I'm not good with shadows and stuff (otherwise I'd be able to paint...or maybe not...), so I just added clear beads randomly around the corners =.=
I’m not good with shadows and stuff (otherwise I’d be able to paint…or maybe not…), so I just added clear beads randomly around the corners =.=

 

I thought I'd add some depth, not sure if it worked there or not.
I thought I’d add some depth, not sure if it worked there or not.

 

Framed and gifted. Thanks for helping me throughout the years! Now let's hang this on your wall and let it stare into your soul everyday...:P
Framed and to be gifted. Β Sitting in my study/craft room at the moment. Thanks for helping me throughout the years! Now let’s hang this on your wall and let it stare into your soul everyday…:P

 

It took a while, but was a fun project to do. Getting craft glue to behave is sometimes challenging. And then my craftroom floor was infested with beads, since the bead dropping to gluing ratio was about 5:1, conservatively speaking.

2 thoughts on “Beaded Portrait.

Leave a Reply

