A Kaleidoscopic Journey.

I remember loving kaleidoscopes as a child. The wonder of change, in shape, in colours, in reflections. It’s dynamic, and magical.

I hope young children nowadays still get to enjoy this traditional toy. I wish we can all appreciate old-school, non-electronic ‘gadgets’.

So I made a kaleidoscope for a dear friend’s little girl :)

All the materials ready. A paper roll, piece of fabric, tape, plastic circular caps, reflective paper, beads.
All the materials ready. A paper roll, piece of fabric, tape, plastic circular caps, reflective paper, beads.

 

Put the beads in the cap with the closed end.
Put the beads in the cap with the closed end. I added more in after this pic.

 

Place the flat plastic circle into the cap (lucky I found pre-made ones)
Place the flat plastic circle into the cap (lucky I found pre-cut ones).

 

Fold the reflective paper into a triangular prism and tape together
Fold the reflective paper into a triangular prism and tape together. It should fit inside the paper roll.

 

Testing it with my fingers.
Testing it with my fingers.

 

Interesting...and I got sidetracked.
Interesting…and I got sidetracked.

 

Let's see what this fella looks under the scope.
Let’s see what this fella looks under the scope.

 

There...
There…

 

Looks unexpected o_O
Looks unexpected o_O

 

Its parts looks better than the sum, in this case :p
Its parts look better than the sum, in this case :p

 

Ok...back on task. Put the prism into the roll.
Ok…back on task. Put the prism into the roll.

 

Cover the paper roll with pretty paper or fabric.
Cover the paper roll with pretty paper or fabric and double sided tape.

 

Then place the cap with the beads, and the cap with the viewing circle on opposite ends on the tube.
Then friction-fit the caps (one with the beads, other one with the viewing circle) on opposite ends of the tube.

 

I put printed tape around the joints, since it's a toy for a young child and I didn't want it to dissemble easily.
I put printed tape around the fabric and plastic Β joints, since it’s a toy for a young child and I didn’t want it to dissemble easily.

 

Japanese items on my desk at the moment ^_^
Japanese items on my desk at the moment ^_^

 

DONE!!! Let's have a look...
DONE!!! Let’s have a look…point it to a light source.

 

DIY kaleidoscope (17)

 

DIY kaleidoscope (18)

 

DIY kaleidoscope (19)

 

DIY kaleidoscope (20)

 

DIY kaleidoscope (25)

 

DIY kaleidoscope (22)

 

DIY kaleidoscope (23)

 

DIY kaleidoscope (24)

 

DIY kaleidoscope (21)

 

I’m quite happy with it:D

 

Leave a Reply

