Kwik Sew 3683 – Short version.

I decided it’s time to finally sew my very first commercial pattern (Kwik Sew 3283). I chose the easiest pattern available…just 2 pieces for the tunic, omitted the scarf and belt, and basically just sewing rectangles together.  I decided to make various lengths, and this is the short version. It’s also my first time sewing with knits jersey in dressmaking!

Although I've sewn garments with customised patterns before, this is the very first commercial pattern I have used.
Although I’ve sewn garments with customised patterns before, this is the very first commercial pattern I have used.

 

Picture from here
Picture from here

 

  • Pattern: Kwik Sew 3683
  • Size made: XS (XS – XL included)
  • Pattern pieces: 2 (omitted scarf & belt)
  • Fabric: Jersey knit, 1m length, bought from Lincraft
  • New Technique used: First time using commercial dress pattern; Shortened pattern
  • Modifications: Omitted scarf and belt, shortened hem

 

I only have one metre of this thin jersey fabric. So I made a short version of the tunic.
I only have one metre of this thin jersey fabric. So I made a short version of the tunic.

 

I traced the size XS onto tissue paper. Baby steps.
I considered cutting straight into the pattern since no fitting is needed, but decided to trace the size XS onto tissue paper.

 

Knit fabrics are so hard to cut. I should invest in a rotary cutter and cutting mat.
Knit fabrics are so hard to cut.  I should invest in a rotary cutter and cutting mat.

 

Overlocked the shoulder and side seams. The armholes, neckline and bottom seams are left raw (the pattern said so, and hey I haven't learned how to hem knit fabrics...)
Overlocked the shoulder and side seams. The armholes, neckline and bottom seams are left raw (the pattern said so, and hey I haven’t learned how to hem knit fabrics…). I sewn them together with ball point needle on the sewing machine. The 6mm seam allowance has been included in the pattern.

 

Complete. Just a basic T-shirt.
Completed. Just a basic T-shirt.

 

It's very comfortable though.
It’s very comfortable though (as evidenced by the frizzy hair). Ahhhh.

 

A busy print means that wonky seams and uneven edges are virtually hidden :D
A busy print means that wonky seams and uneven edges are virtually hidden :D

 

I wore the short version tucked in. I'm planning to make different lengths.
I wore the short version tucked in. I’m planning to make different lengths.

 

So I survived sewing stretchy rectangles together. That’s the first step, right?  I’m just learning the most basic of things. Like, adjusting tension on the overlocker. It was quite a nightmare!

3 thoughts on “Kwik Sew 3683 – Short version.

    • Thank you for visiting :) I like that it’s a bit different and it’s soft to touch. Drapes nicely too even with my rudimentary sewing skills!

  1. Pingback: Kwik Sew 3683 – Long Version. | mauve cloud studio.

Leave a Reply

