Kwik Sew 3683 – Long Version.

So I made the long version of Kwik Sew 3683.  

I made a shorter version last week, and now the lengthened version, as the original tunic length just doesn’t suit me.  I’m rather short (5 ft, 153cm) so I don’t look that great in maxi dresses either, but I gave it a go with this pattern. 

I am rather embarrassed to be sewing a two-piece, four-seam garment and making it sound like I’ve done a good job.  No…I think the pattern is forgiving, the fit is loose, the fabric distracts the eye from the construction (or lack thereof), so it’s lucky I can be this inexperienced and still make a DIY dress.

I have this lovely navy fabric (I love navy!) with blue and orange swallows on it.
I have this lovely navy fabric (I love navy!) with blue and orange swallows on it.

 

Kwik Sew 3683 again.
Kwik Sew 3683 again.

 

Picture from here
Picture from here

 

  • Pattern used: Kwik Sew 3683
  • Size made: XS (XS – XL included)
  • Pattern pieces: 2 (omitted scarf and belt)
  • Fabric: Polyester knit (95% polyester, 5% elastane), 148cm width, 2m length, made in China, bought from Spotlight
  • New Techniques used: Lengthened pattern; Overlocking
  • Modifications: Omitted scarf and belt; Lengthened hem to maxi dress length; Lowered neck line

 

I lengthened the original pattern to make the maxi dress. Lucky they are just straight lines.
I lengthened the original pattern to make the maxi dress. Lucky they are just straight lines.

 

I'm going to be sewing rectangles again...
I’m going to be sewing rectangles again…very long ones.

 

I'm lucky to have a borrowed overlocker (saving up to buy my own). I would not know how to hem the seams otherwise
I’m lucky to have a borrowed overlocker (saving up to buy my own). I would not know how to hem the seams otherwise.

 

No sugarcoating. It really is just a shapeless tube. I lowered the neckline a bit.
No sugarcoating. It really is just a shapeless tube. I lowered the neckline a bit.

 

The most essential part of this outfit is obviously the belt. Belts are wonderful inventions ;)
The most essential part of this outfit is obviously the belt. Belts are wonderful inventions ;)

 

I hope I can make more fitted garments in the future.
I hope I can make more fitted garments in the future.

 

I am always attracted to darker colour schemes, and animal prints. Navy and birds? Tick and tick.
I am always attracted to darker colour schemes, and animal prints. Navy and birds? Tick and tick.

 

kwik sew 3683 long version (9)

 

kwik sew 3683 long version (10)

 

kwik sew 3683 long version (11)

 

kwik sew 3683 long version (12)

 

kwik sew 3683 long version (13)

To be honest, making clothes scares me. I read a lot of dressmaking blogs, and the complexity of it overwhelms me. Of course, amazing garments are made by talented, experienced people who have invested time and effort in their art. I just feel a heavy weight, an invisible barrier, that makes me reluctant to dive deep into it. It’s definitely out of my comfort zone.

 

4 thoughts on “Kwik Sew 3683 – Long Version.

  1. There’s nothing wrong with simple garments (especially when they look as beautiful as your dress does!) – my favourite thing I ever made has only two seams and I’ve been making all my clothes for three years, so please don’t worry. If there’s ever anything I can do to help, just drop me an email! Your dress looks very pretty indeed (great fabric choice!) and perfect for hot weather!

    • Thank you nishi. The encouraging words are really uplifting :D Now I can wear my dress with pride.
      Though, I would love to make something like your Anna dress! I think it’s a great shape and showcase of nice fabric. I dream of fabric hunting in Japan, but I missed out on the opportunity twice (inadequate time). One day!

Leave a Reply

