First Coin Purse ^_^

I’ve always wanted to sew purses and bags. The ones in my craft books look really nice. But I’ve always been hesitant.

The small coin purse seemed easy enough to make. Or so I thought.

Perhaps because the instructions that came with it was unclear. Also, it asked for the sides to be GLUED together not sewn….I don’t trust chemical adhesion as much as mechanical, sewn seams. So I was going off on my own and ended up making a few mistakes.

I love Japanese textured cottons. I chose a navy floral bunny one for the outer, and a light blue bunny one for the lining.
I love Japanese textured cottons. I chose a navy floral bunny one for the outer, and a light blue bunny one for the lining.

 

Cutting out the pattern. Mistake #1: it'd be easier if the lining fabric is cut a little smaller, or a wider seam allowance used, since the lining 'pouch' will have to fit inside the outer 'pouch'.
Cutting out the pattern. Mistake #1: it’d be easier if the lining fabric is cut a little smaller, or a wider seam allowance used, since the lining ‘pouch’ will have to fit inside the outer ‘pouch’.

 

Sewn, right sides together. No glue.
Sewn, right sides together. No glue. Yet.

 

Progress...
Progress…flip outer pouch to right side out. Leave inner pouch as is. Mistake #2: I forgot to notch outside the seams.

 

With this kind of clasp, glue had to be used. A piece of twine is also used to hold the fabric inside and around the clasp.
With this kind of clasp, glue had to be used. A piece of twine is also used to hold the fabric inside and around the clasp. Mistake #3: using a thicker twine will work better.

 

Finished product.
Finished product. Mistake #4: When the opening is this small, the lining material doesn’t matter much. Can’t really see much inside. Should have saved my nice fabric, although it’s only a small piece.

 

Other side of the coin purse.
Other side of the coin purse.

 

The process was quite frustrating and fiddly. It would have been easier if it was bigger. Also, I needed some help to apply the glue. I’ve never been good with glue, and always make a mess :P

 

One thought on “First Coin Purse ^_^

Leave a Reply

