Plush Shark…or Deep Sea Fish?

This plush, a kit bought from Lincraft, was supposed to be a shark, with the grills and fins and all.

But after following the instructions to a tee, it looked more like a deep sea fish…

The separate pieces.
The separate pieces.

 

Sewing the eyes and grills on took more time than I expected.
Sewing the eyes and grills on took more time than I expected.

 

Sew the top, insert belly piece, start stuffing.
Sew the top, insert belly piece, start stuffing.

 

The teeth took really really long to sew...I nearly gave up. Because they have to be sandwiched between the grey and red felts, and at the end sewn at an angle to sit upright in the mouth.
The teeth took really really long to sew…I nearly gave up. Because they have to be sandwiched between the grey and red felts, and at the end sewn at an angle to sit upright in the mouth.

 

So. Shark? I don't know. Looks more like....
So. Shark? I don’t know. Looks more like….

 

THIS!!!!! (Image from National Geogrphic)
THIS!!!!!
(Image from National Geographic)

 

Done :D
Done :D

 

I didn’t save the template so I can’t make it again…but then, I almost never make the same plush more than once. Β It makes me feel that the toy I made is more special…and also, there are so many other nice patterns to try. It’ll take me years to sew the patterns already in my stash….

 

4 thoughts on “Plush Shark…or Deep Sea Fish?

    • Thank you Jana. I think either the bottom part (white) and the mouth piece (red) given was too long, or I have sewn the top too tightly leaving excess at the bottom. The bottom jaw of sharks should be retruded and now it sticks out. Either way the little one-year old recipient didn’t mind :P I love your nature craft series!

  1. Pingback: Mr Dundee. | mauve cloud studio.

Leave a Reply

