Fortune Meow.

I made this Fortune Cat for a friend who loves cats. 

I knew it would take me ages. It’s the same series as the horse I made a while ago, and designed by the same Japanese artist – 福村 弦美. The kit itself was produced by Olympus Thread. I bought this kit overseas together with the horse.

So many pieces. Lots of hours spent just preparing the materials and cutting fabric.
So many pieces. Lots of hours spent just preparing the materials and cutting fabric.

 

I can't read Japanese in whole, but I rely on pictures and past experience to construct the plush.
I can’t read Japanese in whole, but I rely on pictures and past experience to construct the plush. I can read the Chinese characters within the Japanese, so that helps too.

 

Head and arms done...next...
Head and arms done…next…

 

Body, feet and tail also done. Onto the accessories.
Body, feet and tail also done. Onto the accessories.

 

I have to say by this point this has taken me 3 nights to make it up to this stage. I embroidered the words "Big Fortune" (the original pattern had "Billion Dollars", but I changed it).
I have to say by this point this has taken me 3 nights to make it up to this stage. I embroidered the words “Big Fortune” (the original pattern had “Billion Dollars”, but I changed it).

 

All the parts ready to be sewn together.
All the parts ready to be sewn together. Oh. Had to embroider the face as well!

 

That's better....
That’s better….

 

Done! Fortune cats are mascots frequently used in parts of Asia for good luck and fortune.
Done! Fortune cats are mascots frequently used in parts of Asia for good luck and fortune.

 

A spotted cat with a bib and slab of gold, and the raised right hand is to call for luck/fortune.
A spotted cat with a bib with a bell, a slab of gold, and the raised right hand is to wave and call for luck/fortune.

 

Feels good to make something iconic to my culture.
Feels good to make something iconic in my culture, even though I’m not superstitious and don’t have actual fortune cats anywhere in my home.

 

May luck, fortune and happiness be with everyone :D
May luck, fortune and happiness be with everyone :D

 

8 thoughts on “Fortune Meow.

    1. Thank you :) I want to make more garments but am always distracted by plush making! I look at the clothing you’ve sewn and dream!

    1. Thank you Nishiink. Patience, yes…talent, I wouldn’t say so. Unless I’m the plush designer! Haha! Look forward to your posts :)

Leave a Reply

