Goodbye Summer (DIY kimono beach cover-up).

We have an extended summer in Queensland and autumn is finally upon us. The days are getting shorter, and at times cooler, but most people here are still wearing T-shirts, shorts and sun dresses. I am grateful for the gorgeous weather in Brisbane and Gold Coast, where it is warm and sunny most of the time.

What better way to see summer off than sewing a beach cover-up and frolic in the fine sand and gentle waves?

Self-drafted kimono sleeve beach cover-up. I drew up the plan before I made the pattern.
Self-drafted kimono sleeve beach cover-up. I drew up the plan before I made the pattern. I wanted drop sleeves in kimono style, wide neck and round bottom edges.

 

  • Pattern: Copied RTW kimono
  • Size made: RTW size XS, loose fit
  • Pattern pieces: 3
  • Fabric:Β 100 % polyester, 145cm width, 1.5m length, bought from Spotlight
  • New Techniques used: Adding trim
  • Modifications: N/A

 

My initial pattern. Later I hacked off about 20cm from the bottom, and shortened the sleeves.
My initial pattern. Later I hacked off about 20cm from the bottom, and shortened the sleeves.

 

Overlocked the edges. Only 5 pieces and a few seams.
Overlocked the edges. Only 5 pieces and a few seams. I used black thread to overlock because…I didn’t know how to change the thread on the overlocker! I should learn that…Also, Β I cut the fabric in straight grain and I now wonder if I should have cut it on the bias for better drape.

 

Sewn the seams. The lengths and measurements are the same as the plan.
Sewn the seams. The lengths and measurements are the same as the plan (i.e. the measurements in the plan above were the corrected values according to this final version).

 

This is a rayon polyester material, and much easier to handle than chiffon. Plus it's not transparent.
This is a thicker polyester material, and much easier to handle than flimsy chiffon. Plus it’s not transparent. I folded the hems in twice and used regular stitch on the sewing machine. This time at least I used white thread…

 

I hand-sewn the purple pom-pom trim to add definition.
I hand-sewn the purple pom-pom trim to add definition and contrast. It took 3.5m of the trim.

 

Finished :D
Finished :D

 

In action.
In action at one of the many beautiful beaches in Gold Coast, Australia.

 

DIY beach coverup (9)

 

DIY beach coverup (10)

 

DIY beach coverup (11)

 

DIY beach coverup (12)

 

DIY beach coverup (13)

 

DIY beach coverup (14)c

I like summer, but autumn is my favourite season, so I’m looking forward to the days getting cooler and taking my jumpers and cardigans out!

 

4 thoughts on “Goodbye Summer (DIY kimono beach cover-up).

    • Hi and happy Easter :) I didn’t have pom poms in mind to start with, and thought about fringing or tatted lace, but once I got to the fabric store this one seemed to suit the most. All experimental for me haha!

  1. Pingback: Cool Pool & Beach Coverups To Make This Summer - Servicecan

Leave a Reply

