Needle Felt Hippo.

I decided to try needle felting, or wool felting.  I thought it would be fun to get into. Little did I know…I was so, so wrong.

I bought a kit to try it out. The kit was from Jean Cultural & Creative Co.
I bought a kit to try it out. The kit was from Jean Cultural & Creative Co.

 

Okay, there were only about 15 steps to make this hippo. Yet...each step took at least an hour.
Okay, there were only about 15 steps to make this hippo. Yet…each step took at least an hour.

 

Needle-felting really tested my patience...and I'd have to say, my patience ran thin, very thin...
Needle-felting really tested my patience…and I’d have to say, my patience ran thin, very thin…

 

Basically it's thousands and thousands of tiny stabs using the needle, until the wool fibres intertwine and form a shape.
Basically it’s thousands and thousands of tiny stabs using the needle, until the wool fibres intertwine and form the desired shape.

 

I'm inexperienced, and stabbed my finger so many times. Blood was drawn, and there may or may not be lots of swearing hahaha
I’m inexperienced, and stabbed my finger so many times. Blood was drawn, and there may or may not have been lots of swearing hahaha.

 

Okay. So using this kit which came with the silicone moulds, supposedly make the process much faster and easier. Still, it's difficult for me.
Okay. So using this kit which came with the silicone moulds, supposedly make the process much faster and easier. Still, it’s difficult for me.

 

I usually don't say no to particular types of craft, and hence giving this a go. But I think...it really isn't for me!
I usually don’t say no to particular types of craft, and hence giving this a go. But I think…it really isn’t for me!

 

Stab, stab, stab, stab...it took many hours, many nights, many days to finish it.
Stab, stab, stab, stab…it took many hours, many nights, many days to finish it.

 

I'm glad it's done and dusted. I'm ready to say goodbye.
I’m glad it’s done and dusted. I have another 3 needle felt kits, but now I’m not sure if I’ll ever use/make them…

 

Hippo and Birdy. Friends and companion.
Hippo and Birdy. Friends and companions.

 

Needle felt hippo (11)

 

Needle felt hippo (12)

 

Needle felt hippo (13)

 

Needle felt hippo (14)

 

Needle felt hippo (15)

 

2 thoughts on “Needle Felt Hippo.

  1. This is adorably hilarious! Your post and pictures just made my morning even better. When I tried my hand at this (I did not make a 3-d anything of this nature, rather just used the needle to secure wool hair to the 2-d dolls I add on my children’s bags) I found the stabbing motion incredibly releasing :) So cute hippo! Nelusha

    • Thank you Nelusha. The stabbing was fun for the first hour or so, and became sheer frustration and resentment at 5-20+ hours haha! And whenever I tried to relax, I lost concentration and stabbed myself. Your children are lucky, they must have a collection of handmade fun bags to choose and use! Wool hair seems fun, perhaps 2D needle felting would be more compatible with me :) thanks for the inspiration.

Leave a Reply

