Another Coin Purse.

After making my first coin purse with the twine-stuffing technique, I wasn’t convinced about the sturdiness of the glue.  I always believe in stitches over glue. The clasp of this coin purse has holes for stitching the pouch opening to it, and I like it much better even though it took 10 times more work.

This kit is from Bear Talk. I bought it in Hong Kong.
This kit is from Bear Talk. I bought it in Hong Kong.

 

All the pieces traced and cut.
All the pieces traced and cut.

 

My first time using fusible interface. I love it! Nearly ruined my iron as I accidentally put the shiny side up, but corrected it just in time.
My first time using fusible interface. I love it! Nearly ruined my iron as I accidentally put the shiny side up, but corrected it just in time.

 

Piecing the outside pouch together and sewing on the wrong side
Piecing the outside pouch together and sewing on the wrong side.

 

I really like how it's nice and structured with the fusible interface ironed onto the inside
I really like how it’s nice and structured with the fusible interface inside.

 

Rabbit coin purse (6)
Reinforced by interfacing.

 

Outside and inside pouches, plus ears sewn and ready to assemble
Face embroidered, outside and inside pouches sewn,  ears made and ready to assemble.

 

I still get a kick from sewing the lining, but putting the outside bag inside the inside bag. For a while I was really confused about this step.
I still get a kick from attaching the lining by placing the outside bag inside the inside bag before sewing and turning. For a while I was really confused about this step.

 

Mistake: I should have left the gap for turning over larger!
Mistake: I should have left the gap for turning over larger!

 

Sewing the pouch opening to the clasp with clear nylon thread. So hard to handle.
Sewing the pouch opening to the clasp with clear nylon thread, which was slippery and curly and hard to handle.

 

Completed. Much sturdier than the previous one (pouch opening glued to clasp)
Completed after sewing on the ears. Much sturdier than the previous one (pouch opening glued to clasp).

 

Rabbit ears

 

Rabbit coin purse (14)

Rabbit coin purse (15)

I have no idea how people can make coin purses and sell them for $10. This literally took me a whole day to make. I know I’m slow, and I’m paranoid with stitches unravelling so I backstitched everything by hand and stitched each little hole on the clasp 5 times. It took forever and my eyes were going funny. If I had to sell craft for a living, I’m going to starve. No joke!

 

17 thoughts on “Another Coin Purse.

  1. Wow! You do the most detailed and precise work! I’m just so impressed by your patience and attention to detail. I love the ears on this purse!

    • Thank you and so nice to hear from you. On the subject of details: I look at embroidery work by other people and especially vintage pieces…each little stitch! Or paintings with much depth and colours and each brushstroke is full of life! Anyway, thank you for your compliment and I’ll endeavour to do better :)

    • Thanks Chui :) I really want to make clothes but always end up sewing plush and other things (including this coin purse haha)! I cut out the pattern for a summer dress, put it aside and now it’s autumn/winter :'( Hope the weather is nice at your end :)

  2. That’s a good point. Truth be told, I haven’t made a muslin of it yet. Debating with myself whether I must do that boring step. But you know, being not the same height and proportions as the commercial pattern models, I don’t like the chances of the pattern fitting me with no changes (it’s fairly fitted too, and it’s a Simplicity).

Leave a Reply

