Gratitude & Thoughts.

I feel very humbled and honoured to be nominated by Jana of Me and My Veritas the “Very Inspiring Blogger Award”.  It is the first time for me that the online sewing community has reached out and generously invited me to participate, in this surprising and kind way. Jana’s original post about the award can be found here.

Art, craft and sewing blogs always inspire me. Jana, for example, makes fun and unique crafts for kids, and my favourites would have to be her Natural Toys series – especially Ramp with Trees, and Lookout with Stairs. And her felt food are so fun, children must love them so much!

very-inspiring-blogger-award

Back to the Award itself. I’m going with Jana’s description:

What is the Very Inspiring Blogger Award?

The Very Inspiring Blogger Award is an award given to bloggers from fellow bloggers. It recognizes bloggers who work hard to keep the blogosphere a beautiful place.

Award Guidelines:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you and add a link to their blog.
  2. Display the award logo in a blog entry.
  3. List the award guidelines so your nominees will know what to do.
  4. State 7 hidden facts about yourself.
  5. Nominate other blogger friends for the award.

Seven hidden facts about myself? Hm…writing and expressing myself isn’t my strength. I’ll state some un-mentioned (not hidden or secret or anything…) points that come to mind…

da vinci (i). I’ve always wondered why I became interested in arts and crafts. I went to art classes in kindy and primary school, but I wouldn’t say it sparked any particular interest. I made some random art and craftwork throughout my childhood, but same, nothing passionate there. I was a disaster in Home Ed class in high school (PJ shorts became floor rags straight away). I became interested in sewing at the end of high school – I somehow made 30 mini teddies in rainbow colours for my classmates as farewell presents. In university I dived into papercraft and scrapbooking. After graduating from my first degree, I began sewing more frequently. It wasn’t until a few years ago that I found out my late mother, who passed away when I was four years old, and whom I never really got to know, was a sewing enthusiast and made her own aprons, curtains and clothes. Do you believe that sewing is in the genes? Or is it pure coincidence? My family didn’t encourage me to sew, no one taught me and I consider myself stumbled upon it. But now it makes sense…and it makes me feel somehow connected with my mother when I make something.

(ii). I’m an introvert, but within my circle of friends, I can be the one to make jokes and talk nonsense all day. Most of the time, I’m serious and sentimental. Most of my life have been filled with the effects of death and grief, and I am always learning how to be truly happy.

(iii). I love Japanese food and sashimi. I worry that I get mercury poisoning from eating so much deep sea fish. 

felt (iv). I love animals and had wanted to be a vet, but once I learned the nature of the job (include euthanising animals), I didn’t go ahead with it. On the other hand, I’m not a vegetarian, so I feel very guilty and conflicted about it. I started Meatless Mondays this year.

(v). I try to go to as many musical theatre performances as I can afford to. My favourites so far have been: Phantom of the Opera, Love Never Dies, Chitty Chitty Bang Bang, Wicked and The Lion King. I am still waiting to see Les Miserables (Update 2016: I have finally seen Les Miserables and I love, love, love it).

(vi). I am saving up for a super good overlocker. Suggestions? Considering the BabyLock Imagine, with the Jet-Air threading and Auto tension adjustment. It’s so expensive though… (Update 2016: I have bought my Babylock Enlighten!!! Swoon!)

(vii). I started this blog in 2009 just before I commenced my second university degree as a way to document what I’ve made. It was almost purely for myself, like an online scrapbook. I like procedures and steps, so that’s what my post formats are. They are not intended to ‘instruct’ anyone, nor they serve as tutorials, but merely a personal, visual record. A bit monotonous, but that’s me. Also, frustratingly, after using my spare time to craft, I am not left with much time to look at other bloggers’ websites; Over the years, I have not really connected with the sewing community, not until very recently. I am very grateful for the kindness I’ve experienced.

Sewing and lego Not very interesting. Thank you for listening/reading.

More interesting would be what these inspiring craftists/seamstresses make, who I connect with as well. And I nominate them the ‘Very Inspiring Blogger Award’. As Jana pointed out, not everyone likes awards and nominations, but this is just me appreciating your beautiful work:

* Nishiink! (booklover, llama lover, print lover – need I say more?)

Springy Stitches (I adore Becky’s vintage creations)

* Wear the Ducky Tie (petite seamstress!)

Kitschy Chic (unique and quality bags made by a lawyer)

Ciao!

[Fact (viii): I learned Italian for a year in 2011 and confirmed that I have no talent in languages and linguistics.]

 

8 thoughts on “Gratitude & Thoughts.

  1. Congrats on the award! Can’t believe you made 30 bears for your classmates, that’s awesome! I’m still working on being confident enough to not just do selfish sewing haha. And ahh I wanna watch wicked but talk about expensive, could buy a new serger with the ticket price I think :p thanks for the nomination as well, you have some other awesome bloggers on there so I have some blog stalking to do :)

    • Thanks so much Chui. Well, my craft is a piece of myself which is flawed anyway, so there they go, loved ones won’t mind and will appreciate the thought+effort. Otherwise, they’re not ‘loved ones’ anymore wakakaka. Hmm, that’s why I’m still saving for an overlocker/serger…I saw Wicked 3 times, I like it that much, my wallet did not thank me though. You should see it, it’s awesome!

  2. Thank you very much for your kind words! You are a very special person and super talented. Would say it is in the genes. I am so sorry to read that your life so far was quite troublesome. I am sending all my good thoughts and vibes over to you and very much hope you had enough of bad feelings! Let big smiles be your garment of the day! :) I LOVE japanese food, too! And I can recommend the Brother 1034D Lock serger. All the best, Jana

    http://www.meandmyveritas.wordpress.com

    • Thank you Jana. You made my day and I’m wearing the big smile you gave me. I am not complaining as there are far worse tragedies happening every day in the world, I am just still sad sometimes. But crafting makes me happy :) and I think having children in the future will change my life. I’ve heard good things about the Brother 1034D, will look into it, thanks! From Sil

  3. Thanks so much for the nomination, Sil! Your facts were really interesting & I’m so impressed to hear that you are doing a second degree! You sound like such an interesting and sweet soul – I hope we meet in real life one day and eat sushi together (yum!)!
    I second the Brother recommendation – I have a Japanese version of the 1034D and it is very simple and easy to use.

    • Thank you Nishi, I’ve finally completed the second degree a few months ago- it’s been a long journey! I do hope we meet up and go to a fabric shop, book cafe or art gallery! :)
      Sounds like Brother is the one, good price too!

  4. Thank you so much for the nomination Sil! I find your work inspiring too, all those gorgeous purses and cute creatures! Congratulations on completing your second degree too, you are a very motivated soul! I always think that the obstacles that we face in life make us stronger and you are no exception!

    • Thank you Becky! My family always say, if only I direct my passion for craft into my work/job, I’d achieve much more in life…but life is a balance, right? I wouldn’t want to be “successful” but stopped from doing the things I love. Becky your creations (and your smile!) brings joy to many, hope to see more posts soon :)

Leave a Reply

