We are ONE.

Is it ever too early to teach young children about the world? The countries and their people, culture, history?

I carefully curated a “World Box” for the son of my dear friend – whom I’ve met on a tour in Europe, whom I share the passion of travelling – and I am hoping that early exposure may lead to a deeper understanding and interest in the subject.

Firstly, I made 3 mechanical wind-up walking dolls in traditional attire.

Each doll is a separate kit from Sunfelt (Japanese company). I bought the kits in Hong Kong.
Each doll is a separate kit from Sunfelt (Japanese company). I bought the kits in Hong Kong.

 

Ready to sew!
Ready to sew after all the pieces are prepared.

 

Doll #1 - Eskimo
Doll #1 – Eskimo

 

Doll #2 - Dutch Lady
Doll #2 – Dutch Lady

 

Doll #3 - Native American Indian
Doll #3 – Native American Indian

 

Despite our birth country, ethnicity, gender, religion, level of education, income, geographical location...we are all people, we are humanity, we are ONE.
Regardless of our birth country, ethnicity, gender, religion, level of education, income, geographical location…we are all people, we are humanity, we are ONE.

 

We have our own dear little things that are important to us.
We each have our own dear little things that are important to us. We can’t compare reindeer to tulips to feathers :)

 

Eskimo "JOE" and his Husky.
Eskimo “JOE” and his Husky.

 

Dutch lady and her clogs. Flowers picked from my partner's garden without permission (shhhh).
Dutch lady and her clogs. Flowers picked from my partner’s garden without permission (shhhh).

 

Chief and .... the plane! The Globe! Travelling can be for anyone and everyone.
Chief and …. the plane! The Globe! Travelling can be for anyone and everyone!! Let’s be free of stereotypes :P

 

I bought books, a cardboard box/suitcase, travel themed stickers, postcards and luggage tags to complete the gift. And a free world map from Doctors Without Borders.
I bought books, a cardboard box/suitcase, travel themed stickers, postcards and luggage tags to complete the gift. And a free world map from Doctors Without Borders.

 

I also decorated the outside and inside of the suitcase with stickers! On hindsight, I should have let my friend's son do it, but I couldn't help myself :P
I also decorated the outside and inside of the suitcase with stickers! On hindsight, I should have let my friend’s son do it, but I couldn’t help myself :P Also, when you wind up the dolls and they start walking in circular steps, it’s hilarious!

 

The universe is more complex than we can ever imagine, but we live in this one Earth, and we are in it together.
The universe is more complex than we can ever imagine, but we live in this one Earth, and we are in it together.

 

Parents who are teaching their children about justice, equality, ethics and benevolence...from the bottom of my heart, I thank you for raising kind, beautiful humans.
To parents who are teaching their children about justice, equality, ethics, honesty, empathy and benevolence…from the bottom of my heart, I thank you for raising kind, compassionate, beautiful humans.

 

7 thoughts on “We are ONE.

  1. They walk around in circles?? How adorable. I love the idea of mixing fabric with the wind up piece and putting the toys in a suitcase with stickers on it. What a cool gift!

    • Thanks Chui! The winding mechism turns two small discs at the bottom which are different diameters and out of step to each other, so it takes a wobbly circular path! Simple but interesting :)

    • Thank you Amanda! My friend likes it :)
      I have the Jiffy shift dress pattern and saw your various (and latest) gorgeous versions, can’t wait to try! But i dont know how to adjust pattern, hope it fits!

Leave a Reply

