Budgerigar, with Love.

My dear friend had a little buddy, a handsome budgie, let’s call him P.

I wanted to make something in loving memory of P. Not a replica, but an impression.

I used a rough pattern by Jantze Tullet in the book "Little Birds".
I used a rough pattern by Jantze Tullet in the book “Little Birds“.

 

I looked up budgie anatomy...photo from here.
I looked up budgie anatomy…photo from here.

 

This is P!!
This is P!! (Permission to post kindly given by friend)

 

I then used a photo of P as reference and started free hand stitching. (Permission to post kindly given by friend)
I then used a photo of P as reference and started free-hand stitching.

 

New thing I learned: male budgies have blue beaks, females brown.
New thing I learned: male budgies have blue cere (the bit above the beak), females brown. I haven’t sewn the cere yet. P has a blue cheek patch.

 

Nature is the best art, and it is hard to simulate...
Nature is the best art, and it is hard to simulate…

 

Repeat on the other side.
Repeat on the other side.

 

The insides.
The insides. Ready to be stitched together.

 

Not as handsome as P, but this reminds me of you, buddy!
Not as handsome as P, but this reminds me of you, buddy!

 

Felt Budgerigar (9)

 

Felt Budgerigar (10)

 

Felt Budgerigar (11)

 

Felt Budgerigar (12)

 

We miss you P!
We miss you P!

 

Leave a Reply

