Missoni DIY Baby Cape.

The Italian brand Missoni – their patterns, with myriad of colours, waves and chevrons, have always held a special place in my heart. Mostly because it reminds me of treasured photographs of my late mother – in her twenties, in the 1970s, happily swishing in shift dresses in said colourways and designs.

The Missoni for Target Collaboration is the closest thing I can afford to buy into their products. The US launch years ago set my heart aflutter but I live so far away Down Under. So when the Australian launch happened last year, I practically ran to Target! Although, I like the deep hues of the US version much more than the brights and pastels of the Australian counterpart.

Anyway, I’m not into their clothing or brand as such, but simply the visual and tactile aspects of the designs. I bought the baby blanket because it’s cotton, it’s soft, and it’s a piece of fabric (100 x 80 cm) that I can cut up and use! To make a sweet baby cape.

  • Pattern: Cape from Japanese book
  • Size made: One size
  • Pattern pieces: 5
  • Fabric: Missoni for Target blanket, 100% cotton
  • New Techniques used: Sewing hood, Self-covered buttons, Pockets
  • Modifications: Nil
Palette of soft pinks and corals.
Palette of soft pinks and corals.

 

Not made in Italy obviously, but it's good quality cotton nevertheless.
Not made in Italy obviously, but it’s good quality cotton nevertheless.

 

I bought this book in the Japanese bookstore (Kinokuiya) in Sydney when I was there for a wedding.
I bought this book in the Japanese bookstore (Kinokuniya) in Sydney when I was there for a wedding.

 

Yup I'm making that cape on the front cover.
Yup I’m making that cape on the front cover.

 

The book suggested a fleece fabric so there was no suggestion of overlocking as there would have been no fraying. I crossed my fingers that a cotton knit would work, and overlocked every piece.
The book suggested a fleece fabric so there was no instruction to overlock as there would have been no fraying. I crossed my fingers that a cotton knit would work, and overlocked every piece.

 

Bits and pieces left.
Bits and pieces left.

 

The hood lining is quilting cotton with a marbled print. Oops - it didn't match up here, so I had to re-cut.
The hood lining is quilting cotton with a marbled print. Oops – it didn’t match up to the outer edge, so I had to re-cut a larger piece.

 

Now that's better.
Now that’s better. I folded the overlocked hem in and stitched in place.

 

Time to sew on pockets, closure tab and botton. The button is non-functional - closure is by velcro hand-sewn under the tab.
Time to sew on pockets, tab and button. The button is non-functional – closure is by velcro hand-sewn under the tab.

 

Tab also handsewn on.
Tab was also handsewn on.

 

Completed Cape :D
Completed Cape :D

 

Back view
Back view

 

I tried to match the pattern at the front. Silly me - the cape never lies flat when it's worn anyway. What's more obvious is the wonky stitching and uneven pocket height! Uh oh.
I tried to match the pattern at the front. Silly me – the cape never lies flat when it’s worn anyway. What’s more obvious is the wonky stitching and uneven pocket height! Uh oh.

 

Ok so it looks positively handmade, and not very neat. But I'm happy with it, if not for the thrill of conceptualising and then actually making it.
Modelled by Snoopy…its neck is too thick!  Ok so it looks positively handmade, and not very neat. But I’m happy with it for the large part.

 

Now if you ask me, will it last the wear and tear that all children's clothing needs? Oh, I don't know...but I wouldn't machine wash it...
Now if you ask me, will it last the wear and tear that children’s clothing needs? Oh, I don’t know…but I wouldn’t machine wash it…might need to hand wash with minimal stretching.

 

Gifted in original box and bag.
Gifted in original box and bag.

 

Almost original. Haha...
Almost original. Haha…

I’m hoping to make more children’s clothing and accessories. My friends’ children are so very cute!

 

5 thoughts on “Missoni DIY Baby Cape.

    1. Thank you! Also, thanks for your post on shopping in Japan, I found it very useful. I love japanese dressmaking books and bought a few. Your work is inspiring!

Leave a Reply

