Grey-red Floral Dress [Vogue 1337].

Finally made another dress! I bought the Vogue 1337 pattern on sale and decided to give it a try. I chose this thin stretch polyester knit with grey background and red flowers. I’m still in slouchy-fit territory of dressmaking: crossing my fingers that no fitting or pattern grading is required! I don’t know how to do that yet…

According to the measurements on the back of the pattern envelope, I’m supposed to make a size 10-12. But I know that there will be heaps of ease and extra fabric will overwhelm my frame. In the end I cut a straight size 4. The designed torso length is long on me, so there is bunching up of fabric at the waist, but the belt helped to cinch it in.

  • Pattern: Vogue 1337, a Badgley Mischka design
  • Size made: size 4 (AX5: sizes 4-12 included)
  • Pattern pieces: 7
  • Fabric: Polyester knit (95% polyester, 5% elastane), 148cm width, 1.5m length, made in China, bought from Spotlight
  • New Techniques used: Hand basting; Making & sewing down pleats; Sewing with elastic; Applying neck facing and fusible interface; Understitching.
  • Modifications: Not enough fabric for skirt so shortened by about 5cm; Omitted belt buckle and thread belt loops

 

Vogue 1337 - A Mischka Badgley design.
Vogue 1337 – A Mischka Badgley design. Batwing sleeves = no scary set-in sleeves!

 

Line drawing of the dress (Picture from here)
Line drawing of the dress (Picture from here)

 

At the moment I trace patterns with tissue paper. I want to try medical exam paper, and also carbon paper/tracing wheel method.
At the moment I trace patterns with tissue paper. I want to try medical exam paper, and also carbon paper/tracing wheel method.

 

Only a few pattern pieces. Love it!
Only a few pattern pieces. Love it!

 

Baste stitching to hold pleats temporarily.
Baste stitching to hold pleats temporarily.

 

All pleated, basted and overlocked.
All pleated, basted and overlocked. The dress has shoulder, waist and hip pleats for added draping.

 

Pinning and sewing elastic. So much trial and error.
Pinning and sewing elastic. So much trial and error.

 

Neck facing. I used medium weight interface - should have used featherweight. It's a bit stiff against the light fabric.
Neck facing. I used medium weight interface – should have used featherweight. It’s a bit stiff against the light fabric.

 

It's supposed to be easy-to-make, but it took me quite a while to complete...
It’s supposed to be easy-to-make, but it took me quite a while to complete…

 

...but a completed project always make me happy (if it fits). This is without the belt to show the waist pleats. It gets covered up by the belt when I wear it.
…but a completed project always make me happy (if it fits). This is without the belt to show the waist pleats. It gets covered up by the belt when I wear it.

 

Shoulder pleats.
Shoulder pleats.

 

Hip pleats.
Hip pleats.

 

Side view with belt on.
Side view with belt on.

 

Back view with belt on.
Back view with belt on.

 

vogue-1337-grey-red-dress-14

 

Vogue 1337 grey red dress (15)

 

vogue-1337-grey-red-dress-16

 

Vogue 1337 grey red dress (18)

 

Vogue 1337 grey red dress (19)

 

Vogue 1337 grey red dress (20)

 

Vogue 1337 grey red dress (17)

 

6 thoughts on “Grey-red Floral Dress [Vogue 1337].

  1. I admire how detail oriented you are!! All the pieces laid out and serged, so cute. The shoulder detail is pretty and it just looks so comfy! Btw the blog layout is so pretty and calming haha, never noticed it before I think because I’m usually on the WordPress app..

    • The reason I can lay them all out is because there were only a few pieces :p The app and desktop layout do look different, right? For most themes too. I play around with themes a bit.

Leave a Reply

