Philosophy of Gifting?

I used to put more thought into giftwrapping – using various embellishments and textures.  That seemed to have shifted a bit ever since I’ve been gifting more handmade items. They are usually irregularly shaped so I use tissue paper to wrap them, then put in a gift bag. Recent gifts have been less exciting than they used to be in regards to the presentation. However, I’m happy that I get to give more DIY gifts.

This is one of the older gifts...uniform shapes are so much easier to wrap! Flocked floral wrapping paper, satin ribbon and silver brooch.
This is one of the older gifts…uniform shapes are so much easier to wrap! Flocked floral wrapping paper, satin ribbon and silver diamante brooch.

 

Printed tissue paper is also nice.
Printed tissue paper is also nice.

 

Flocked paper stuck onto outside of cardboard box, with ribbon lattice.
Flocked paper stuck onto outside of cardboard box, with ribbon lattice.

 

It sometimes feel a bit 'self-promoting' yet pointless to use stickers bearing the name of my non-business blog, but it's fun.
It sometimes feel a bit ‘self-promoting’ yet pointless to use stickers bearing the name of my non-business blog, but it’s fun.

 

Fancy partyware (takeaway boxes) are great for small items.
Fancy partyware (takeaway boxes) are great for small items.

I have been pondering: crafting makes me happy, but why? I like making things, but I am more excited with the final outcome – the gifting part. So does it make the satisfaction and fulfilment predominantly intrinsic or extrinsic?

Leave a Reply

