Indigo Rose Dress [Simplicity 2054].

Venturing a bit further into dressmaking, I made a semi-fitted jersey dress with the Simplicity 2054 pattern.

  • Pattern: Simplicity 2054, a Cynthia Rowley design, View A minus the drapey collar (or View B with long sleeves)
  • Size made: 6 (H5: sizes 6-14 included)
  • Pattern pieces: 4 (without collar)
  • Fabric: Cotton knit (100% cotton), 155cm width, 1.5m length, made in China, bought from Spotlight
  • New Techniques used: Easing and setting sleeves; Neck band and binding; Using ball point needle in sewing machine for knits
  • Modifications: Shortening sleeves and hem; Added rhinestones to neckline blow neckband

 

The fabric is pure cotton, medium weight, four-way stretch jersey knit. It is breathable and comfortable.
The fabric is pure cotton, medium weight, four-way stretch jersey knit. It is breathable and comfortable.

 

I made View A. Picture from here.
I made View A minus collar. Picture from here.

 

I'm still loving simple garments with minimal pieces for easy construction.
I’m still loving simple garments with minimal pieces for easy construction.

 

Being short, I can get away with only needing only 1.5 - 2 metres of fabric, which saves money...
Being short, I can get away with only needing only 1.5 – 2 metres of fabric, which saves money…

 

I should have changed the overlocker thread to a dark colour...but I was lazy :P
I should have changed the overlocker thread to a dark colour…but I was lazy :P

 

First time trying easing the sleeves.
First time trying easing the sleeves.

 

This fabric was a dream to sew...I haven't been the most accurate in pinning and hemming, yet it hides a lot of sewing sins.
This fabric was a dream to sew…I haven’t been the most accurate in pinning and hemming, yet it hides a lot of sewing sins.

 

Inside of garment.
Inside of garment.

 

I added some rhinestones on the neckline for visual interest.
I added some rhinestones on the neckline for visual interest.

 

Simplicity 2054 dress

 

Simplicity 2054 Cynthia Rowley (10)

 

Simplicity 2054 Cynthia Rowley (11)

 

Simplicity 2054 Cynthia Rowley (12)

 

Simplicity 2054 Cynthia Rowley (13)

 

Simplicity 2054 Cynthia Rowley (15)

Spring is here in Australia, I feel like making something spring-y next time!

 

4 thoughts on “Indigo Rose Dress [Simplicity 2054].

    1. Thank you Nelusha! I like that it’s simple, it’s easy to wear and not too difficult to make (with my beginners skills). I like the rhinestones too, just that now it’s sewn on, I must hand wash the garment. Nice to hear from you :)

Leave a Reply

