Making a Pillow Bed from Scratch.

Finally, I made something inspired by pictures on Pinterest. I saw pillow beds on Pinterest and pinned it straight away – what a great idea! Basically sew a cover that lines up pillows back to back, and a bed/mattress is born, perfect for naps, TV time, and general lounging around on the floor.

When I searched more about it on the net, it occurred to me that most tutorials are either (1) simply sewing ready-made pillowcases together, or (2) sewing a bedsheet into sections to hold pillows. I wanted to use my own fabrics and have all the ‘sections’ made from different fabrics, so I made one from scratch. I had to think about the construction process.

 

I had these Japanese fabrics with their signature prints that I really want to use. These are 100% duck/canvas fabrics.
I had these Japanese fabrics with their signature prints that I really want to use. These are 100% cotton duck/canvas fabrics.

 

 

New pillows! I am making a 5-section bed. The bed head has 2 pillows in the pocket and the rest has 1 pillow each.
6 new pillows! I am making a 5-section bed. The bed head has 2 pillows in the pocket and the rest has 1 pillow each.

 

 

Planning how to make it from scratch. I recorded it for future reference.
Planning how to make it from scratch. I recorded it for future reference.

 

Pillow bed from scratch instructions 2

Oops…Step 8 isn’t missing. I got distracted when I was numbering the steps. Now let’s make Step 8 to be: “Sit for a while and take a rest”.

 

Pillow bed from scratch instructions 3

 

This is what I did to decide what size to cut for Step 1. Just estimate how large the cover needs to be, and it depends on how firm and high the pillows are.
[STEP 1]: This is what I did to decide what size to cut for Step 1. Just estimate how large the cover needs to be, and it depends on how firm and high the pillows are.

 

My overlocker and sewing machine are working overtime.
[STEP 2]: My overlocker and sewing machine are working overtime.

 

All overlocked.
All overlocked.

 

[STEP 3+4]: This is the result after the side is sewn together and the flaps folded back accordingly.
[STEP 3+4]: This is the result after the side is sewn together and the flaps folded back accordingly.

 

[STEP 5]: The flaps sewn down. Repeat on other fabrics.
[STEP 5]: The shorter flaps are sewn down, and longer flaps hemmed. Repeat on other fabrics

 

[STEP 6]: Sewing and joining the panels/sections together.
[STEP 6]: Sewing and joining the panels/sections together.

 

DIY Pillow Bed from Scratch (9)

 

[STEP 7]: Fold it in half lengthways, then sew the very top and bottom seams.
[STEP 7]: Fold it in half lengthways, then sew the very top and bottom seams.

 

[STEP 9]: There is no step 8. For this step, turn it out so right sides facing out.
[STEP 9]: There is no step 8. For this step, turn it out so right sides facing out.

 

[STEP 10]: Pin right at the joint and sew down along each section from the outside.
[STEP 10]: Pin right at the joint and sew down along each section through both layers from the outside.

 

[STEP 11]: Put the pillows into each section, and you are done! Yay!
[STEP 11]: Put the pillows into each section, and you are done! Yay!

 

DIY Pillow Bed from Scratch (14)
It’s actually quite long. Nearly as long as my 3-seater couch.

 

DIY Pillow Bed from Scratch (15)
It can be folded up when not in use.

 

DIY Pillow Bed from Scratch (16)
A sample of the fabrics used.

 

DIY Pillow Bed from Scratch (17)
Gifted it as a housewarming present :D

 

Now, what about the 826 other pins on my Pinterest board…?

 

Leave a Reply

