Spring Blossom [“Delphine” Skirt].

I bought Tilly Walnes’ dressmaking book “Love at First Stitch” when it first came out, and the Delphine skirt is my first project from it.  I love the fully coloured step-by-step instructions which really helped me make this garment.

Delphine Love at First Stitch (1)

 

Already in MCS - Love at first stitch

It is a skirt with an interfaced+self faced waistband, invisible zips, slightly flared style and no darts or pleats.

  • Pattern: “Delphine” skirt, in “Love at First Stitch” by Tilly Walnes
  • Size made: size 1 (sizes 1-8 included)
  • Pattern pieces: 4
  • Fabric: Textured brocade, composition unknown, savaged from unwanted garment
  • New Techniques used: Constructing waistband; Sewing zip (regular zip foot), Attempt at pattern matching at back centre seam
  • Modifications: Shortened waistband height; Reduced skirt length; Increased taper from hip point to skirt hem as instructed by book

 

Delphine Love at First Stitch (2)

 

Delphine Love at First Stitch (3)

 

I enjoyed making this skirt, although I made plenty of mistakes. Including cutting the waistband facing wrong and it became too short such that the ends couldn’t be sewn into the zipper tape. so I hand-sewn it on top. I don’t think it made much difference to the outside of the garment, but the inside became less neat. Oh well, I learn…

Delphine Love at First Stitch (4)

 

Delphine Love at First Stitch (5)

 

Delphine Love at First Stitch (6)

 

Delphine Love at First Stitch (7)

 

Springtime in Brisbane is beautiful, with Jacaranda trees blooming flowers in lovely lilac/purple/mauve. I procrastinated so much before I was able to finish this skirt (I started 2.5 months ago), and luckily I am still able to take pictures with Jacarandas wearing the Delphine!

 

Delphine Love at First Stitch (8)

 

Delphine Love at First Stitch (9)

 

Delphine Love at First Stitch (10)

 

Delphine Love at First Stitch (11)

 

Delphine Love at First Stitch (12)

 

Delphine Love at First Stitch (13)

 

Delphine Love at First Stitch (14)

 

Delphine Love at First Stitch (15)

 

Delphine Love at First Stitch (16)

Summer is fast approaching! I should start planning to make summer tops and dresses.

 

7 thoughts on “Spring Blossom [“Delphine” Skirt].

    1. Oh thank you :) I tried to do it right, but went on a tangent with the waistband, luckily it still worked and I learn a bit more each time I make something. I chose this fabric just to somewhat match with the jacaranda blossoms!

Leave a Reply

