Black & White Bears Motorised Racers.

During my recent trip to Japan, I visited various craft stores.

I also went to the Tamiya Model Factory in Shinjuku, Tokyo. I bought two kits for assembling motorised cars – I thought they are so cute! I am hoping my friend’s sons would like them. They are too young to use the kit so I made up the kits and they can have fun with them. Win-win!

Disclaimer: I am NOT in any way affiliated with Tamiya (I wish!). I just think models are cool…

Cute kits. I couldn't decide whether to get the black or white, so I got both. Perfect for my friend's two sons :)
Cute kits. I couldn’t decide whether to get the black or white, so I got both. Perfect for my friend’s two sons :)

 

White bear racing car kit.
White bear racing car kit.

 

Don't lose the little bits and pieces...
Don’t lose the little bits and pieces…

 

Lucky it came with decorative stickers. I'm not good at painting models.
Lucky it came with decorative stickers for the user to put on. I’m not good at painting models.

 

The instructions are like IKEA and LEGO ones. Mostly pictorial, minimal words, easy to understand.
The instructions are like IKEA and LEGO ones. Mostly pictorial, minimal words, easy to understand.

 

My hands smell of grease...
My hands smell of grease…

 

Nearly done
Nearly done..just need to pop the top on.

 

Ready to ROLL! Let's make the black one now.
Ready to ROLL! Let’s make the black one now.

 

Black Bear Racing Car kit.
Black Bear Racing Car kit.

 

The black looks mean.
The black looks mean.

 

Fiddly bits...
Fiddly bits…

 

Battery installed. No wires or anything, just metal click-in parts to connect everything together. So clever.
Battery installed. No wires or anything, just metal click-in parts to connect everything together. So clever.

 

Black Bear ...READY
Black Bear …READY

 

They actually go really fast. To the point where I’m scared if they get switched on indoors and allowed to go wild, they can cause black marks and dents on doors and walls.

 

I can’t decide if I like White or Black bear

 

White?
White?

 

Black?
Black?

 

This is the Tamiya model factory. Floors of goodies.
This is the Tamiya model factory. Several floors of goodies.

 

I don't usually make models, but it's interesting to look at. And the cartoony race car kits are cute.
I don’t usually make models, but they’re interesting to look at. And the cartoony race car kits are cute.

 

Model car enthusiasts racing their prized creations
Model car enthusiasts racing their prized creations.

 

Black & White bear Tamiya motor cars (24)

 

I've even seen this larger racing event in a shopping centre.
I’ve even seen this larger racing event in a shopping centre.

 

Back to the bear racers. A few more photos
Back to the bear racers. A few more photos

 

I really had fun making them.
I really had fun making them.

 

My generation, when we were young, we had no computers, and minimal powered toys. I remember the thrill of making something, insteading of having something made and put in front of me, in which case I'd lose interest quickly.
My generation, when we were young, we had no computers, and minimal powered toys. I remember the thrill of making something, insteading of having something made and put in front of me, in which case I’d lose interest quickly.

 

Hope my friend's sons like them, and perhaps one day they'll make their own...and more fierce, faster model racers!
Hope my friend’s sons like them, and perhaps one day they’ll make their own…and more fierce, faster model racers!

 

Leave a Reply

