Girls Style Book [Dress A].

Making this dress led to many firsts for me.

First time using Japanese sewing books (although translated into English); First time sewing a little girl’s dress; First time sewing pleats with cotton. First time making a fatal error in pattern orientation and cutting the fabric wrong, then running out of fabric. I had to cut the back bodice in cross-grain (vs. straight) in two pieces and add seam allowance and join them together. 

  • Pattern: Dress A, in “Girls Style Book” by Yoshiko Tsukiori and H.H
  • Size made: 6 (sizes 2-10 included)
  • Pattern pieces: 4
  • Fabric: Coordinated quilting cottons from Spotlight
  • New Techniques used: Elastic casing, pleating
  • Modifications: Added pleated band on skirt

 

Girl Style Book Dress A (2)
Dress A. I used 3 different but coordinated patterns, and added a pleated panel at the bottom.

 

Girl Style Book. I hope to make all the projects in it one day. That day is so, so far away....
Girl Style Book. I hope to make all the projects in it one day. That day is so, so far away….

 

Traced and cut out the bodice patterns included in the book. The rectangle and long strip were drawn from instructions (no patterns).
Traced and cut out the bodice patterns included in the book, but I had to add seam allowance myself. The rectangle and long strip were drawn from instructions (no patterns).

 

All the instructions were on two pages. This is the simplest project in the book and I could just follow the steps. I will need more experience to decipher the more complicated patterns.
All the instructions were on two pages as you can see in this photo. This is the simplest project in the book and I could just follow the steps. I will need more experience to decipher the more complicated patterns.

 

Main piece and frill made up. I added the panel at the bottom later.
Main piece and frill made up. I added the panel at the bottom later.

 

Sewing at night in poor light AND the light bulb on my sewing machine has busted! I was also standing to sew, as the craft room has been vacated temporarily for visiting family. I went a bit cross-eyed after this!
Sewing at night in poor light AND the light bulb on my sewing machine has busted! I was also standing to sew, as the craft room has been vacated temporarily for visiting family. I went a bit cross-eyed after this!

 

Finished Dress :D
Finished Dress :D

 

First time encasing elastic in the neckline. I learned the safety pin trick, but didn't use an actual safety pin with a lock...the pin came out and went straight into my finger...OUCH!! Lesson learned!!
First time encasing elastic in the neckline. I learned the safety pin trick, but didn’t use an actual safety pin with a lock…the pin came out and went straight into my finger…OUCH!! Lesson learned!!

 

The panel and pleats were added on spontaneously and free-hand. Not very precise, but it worked...
The panel and pleats were added on spontaneously and free-hand. Not very precise, but it worked…

 

I love pleats!
I love pleats!

 

Brooch details
Brooch details

The brooch was from the stash I made many years ago, here.

 

I hope it lasts at least a few wears and washes in the washing machine!
I hope it lasts at least a few wears and washes in the washing machine!

 

I don’t have children myself, yet, but I can see why making children’s clothes is addictive!

 

3 thoughts on “Girls Style Book [Dress A].

Leave a Reply

