Paint Me Rustic [Simplicity 1314].

I’ve found that normally I match a dress pattern to the fabric. I feel that fabric has to be collected (yes I have a stash…most of us do, I’m sure). For me, I can’t just decide on a pattern to make THEN go look for the fabric. Unless it’s a pattern with interesting features that require a plain fabric to bring out the effects. If I go look for a fabric specifically for a pattern, guaranteed I won’t be able to find anything I like. Murphy’s Law? 

Anyway, I saw this watercolour neoprene knit at Spotlight. I love watercolour prints but mostly abstract pastels and impressionistic florals. This fabric is neither, just stripes of rustic painterly strokes. I decided to get it anyway. Later I sewed Simplicity 1314 and used this fabric.

Simplicity 1314 (1)
Simplicity 1314, I made View B.

 

I made View B. Picture from here.
I made View B. Picture from here.

 

  • Pattern: Simplicity 1314, a Cynthia Rowley design, View D
  • Size made: size 6 (H5: sizes 6-14 included)
  • Pattern pieces: 9 for View D
  • Fabric: Scuba knit (95% polyester, 5% spandex), 147cm width, 2m length, made in China, bought from Spotlight
  • New Techniques used: Princess seams; Stay stitching; Invisible zipper, Understitching (fail)
  • Modifications: shortened dress hem by 16cm and sleeves by 18cm; Omitted neck facing interface; Took in waist by sewing twice the seam allowance there, tapering to normal seam allowance at hip

Simplicity 1314 (2)

 

Simplicity 1314 (3)

 

Simplicity 1314 (4)

 

Simplicity 1314 (5)

 

Princess seams. No darts
Princess seams… I marked, basted, stay stitched and sewn them carefully, my first time trying after all.

 

Neoprene does not require overlocking or edge finishing...
Neoprene does not require overlocking or edge finishing…

 

Bought an invisible zipper foot and first time trying the technique on my own!
Bought an invisible zipper foot and first time trying the technique on my own!

 

Nerve-wrecking...hope it gets easier (experienced readers please don't laugh, I'm noob! haha)
Nerve-wrecking…hope it gets easier (experienced readers please don’t laugh, I’m noob! haha)

 

Not too bad but I have low standards when trying new techniques. If it doesn't fall apart, I'm happy!
Not too bad but I have low standards when trying new techniques. If it doesn’t fall apart, I’m happy!

 

Neck facing. My underlining failed because I thought I followed the instructions and 'trimmed' the seam allowance. Of both the facing and bodice neck! I had nothing to sew the underlining. I just folded the facing inwards and hoped for the best.
Neck facing. My underlining failed because I thought I followed the instructions and ‘trimmed’ the seam allowance. Of both the facing and bodice neck! I had nothing to sew the underlining. I just folded the facing inwards and hoped for the best.

 

Simplicity 1314 (12)
In hindsight, the print somewhat made the princess seams disappear. Perhaps I should have colour blocked it instead or use a print plus plain panels on the side. Oh well next time!

 

Simplicity 1314 (1)

 

Simplicity 1314 (2)

 

Rustic dress simplicity

 

Simplicity 1314 (4)

 

Simplicity 1314 (5)

 

Simplicity 1314 (6)

 

Simplicity 1314 (7)

 

Simplicity 1314 (8)

 

Simplicity 1314 (9)

 

Simplicity 1314 (10)

Spending an afternoon in nature was really relaxing!

 

12 thoughts on “Paint Me Rustic [Simplicity 1314].

    1. I thought it wasn’t “pretty” enough! Could have used a pastel fabric and it’d look different. Oh…the waist is a must…petite girls understand ;)

  1. Your dress is beautiful! I love the fabric and pattern combination. You did a great job on the zipper and princess seams! I’ve been debating whether to get an invisible zipper foot for my machine; do you like yours?

    I totally understand the fabric stashing and inspiration part of how you operate: me too! I have a really hard time shopping for fabric for a particular pattern, and prefer to buy fabric I like and then figure out what to do with it. (It’s usually something like, “Oh wow! That fabric would make a great *insert garment type here*!”) Although for a project I plan to tackle later this year, I did start with the pattern and had to find appropriate fabric: I was successful eventually, but it reminded me why I *don’t* do that most of the time! O_o

    1. Wow you too with fabric stashing! Good luck with the project and I can’t wait to see it, you make beautiful garments.
      The invisible zippe4 foot is the first and only attachment I bought so far, I think it’s worth it (I need more practice with it though). I’ll get much more use out of it than any other feet.

  2. Your dress fits you like a glove, it looks great! I bought this pattern and cut out the pieces but I’m unsure what size to make. Did you go down a size at all or did you make your recommended size according to the envelope?

    I agree with you about fabric – I’ve also been searching for the perfect fabric for this project but coming up empty handed.

    1. Thanks for your compliments! I almost always go down sizes as the pattern ease is generous. I usually go with finished measurements if available. If I’m really unsure I sew the bigger size and alter it afterwards. Or you can make a muslin. I also used a stretch material so it appears to fit and skim the body a bit better :p

Leave a Reply

