My First Sewing Machine: Brother BM-3600.

I bought my first sewing machine in 2005. It is a basic model:Β Brother BM-3600, with a handful of stitches, and 4-step buttonhole. I don’t do quilting or embroidery (maybe one day?), so a simple machine is more than enough for me. I still use it regularly now. It hasn’t needed servicing or fixing thus far, apart from a blown light bulb, and is a reliable little machine. It’s an old model (I can’t believe it’s been more than a decade..) and had long been replaced by other Brother machines, but I suspect they are more or less the same, just different model names, body and packaging.

 

Brother BM-3600
Brother BM-3600 Sewing Machine

 

Simple dials and functions
Simple dials and functions

 

Easy to operate
Easy to operate

 

Things I like about it:

  • Portable, lightweight, yet sturdy when sewing
  • Easy to use
  • Intuitive function
  • Economical
  • Great for beginners
  • Top loading bobbin

Things I think could be better: (but I remind myself, this is a basic machine after all):

  • 4-step buttonhole – 1 step would be excellent
  • light bulb – LED lasts longer, and brighter
  • Carry ‘handle’ is actually a shallow recess – the machine nearly slipped off my hands a few times!

 

The 'handle'
The ‘handle’

 

Lightweight, compact, easy to carry
Lightweight, compact, easy to carry

 

I have mostly positive experience using this machine. Of the times I got frustrated, 99% of the time it was me who made a mistake, didn’t know how to adjust tension, used cheap thread, or broke a needle (or two…). I feel good about Brother sewing machines. I would recommend them. But then, I haven’t used any other brand before this.

I bought a new sewing machine in Dec 2015 (it’s great being your own Santa), but not because I’m unhappy with this one. Will talk about it in the next post or so :)

 

One thought on “My First Sewing Machine: Brother BM-3600.

  1. Pingback: My Second Sewing Machine: Singer Heritage 8768.

Leave a Reply

