March Into March [ “Megan” Dress].

Happy Leap Year!

After making the Delphine Skirt from Tilly Walnes’ book Love at First Stitch, this time I’ve sewn the next project from the book – the “Megan” Dress. 

  • Pattern: Megan Dress, from book ‘Love at First Stitch’ by Tilly Walnes
  • Size made: Size 1 (sizes 1-8 included)
  • Pattern pieces: 7
  • Fabric: Textured cotton (100% cotton), 1.5m length, made in Japan, bought in Tokyo on my trip
  • New Techniques used: Dart tucks, horizontal and vertical darts
  • Modifications: shortened skirt by 2.5cm
The Megan dress has a fitted bodice, sleeves and slight A-line skirt.
The Megan dress has a fitted bodice, sleeves and slight A-line skirt.

 

Already in MCS - Love at first stitch
Love at First Stitch by Tilly Walnes

 

I don't usually like sewing with black fabric, but I like this one with little goldfish spotted across it, and some Japanese-style geometric lines.
I don’t usually like sewing with black fabric, but I like this one with little goldfish spotted across it, and some Japanese-style geometric lines.

 

Only 7 pattern pieces :D
Only 7 pattern pieces :D

 

I had just enough fabric for Size 1 (I had 2 metres).
Luckily I had enough fabric for Size 1 (used 1.5 metres).

 

All pieces and cut out and ready. I overlocked everything.
All pieces and cut out and ready. I overlocked everything before sewing them together.

 

All the darts, and bodice and skirt sewn.
All the darts, and bodice and skirt sewn.

 

Neck facing and interfacing ready.
Neck facing and interfacing ready.

 

Sewing the facing to neckline. I spent so much time working out how understitching was done, and nearly made the fatal mistake of cutting the seam allowance of bodice neckline away!
Sewing the facing to neckline. I spent so much time working out how understitching was done (because I failed in the previous project), and nearly made the same fatal mistake of cutting the seam allowance of bodice neckline away! This time I succeeded. Yippee!

 

Invisible zip didn't look too bad, but at about 5cm above the bottom of the zip, I accidentally sewn over the zipper teeth and thus the zip doesn't open fully. Luckily I can still squeeze into the dress over the shoulder...
Invisible zip didn’t look too bad, but at about 5cm above the bottom of the zip, I accidentally sewn over the zipper teeth and thus the zip doesn’t open fully. Luckily I can still squeeze into the dress over the shoulder…(shoulder narrower than hips, I’m a typical pear!)

 

Sleeves ready to be set in!
Sleeves ready to be set in! With gathered stitches on top. I accidentally cut both sleeve pieces the same way (forgot to flip one over before cutting); luckily they are almost symmetrical and the mistake hardly showed.

 

This dress is a very snug fit on me. I think Tilly's patterns are geared towards a more higher waist, shorter, and more pear-shaped ladies. I'm lucky that her patterns fit without me making much modifications! I may sew less seam allowance or use a stretch fabric next time so I have more room to move (and eat).
This dress is a very snug fit on me in the bodice. I think Tilly’s patterns are geared towards higher waist, shorter, and more pear-shaped ladies. I’m lucky that her patterns fit without me making much modifications! I may sew less seam allowance or use a stretch fabric next time so I have more room to move (and eat).

 

MS asked, “You’re making this AGAIN?”, then I realised that the Megan dress looks very similar to the previous dress I made (Paint strokes dress). I insisted they’re very different, the seams, the construction, the material…MS just shrugged :’D. Oh well. it’s a classic silhouette that I like to wear anyway. Just let me be :P 

Megan dress

 

Megan Dress Love at First Stitch (1)

 

Megan Dress Love at First Stitch (2)

 

Megan Dress Love at First Stitch (4)

 

Megan Dress Love at First Stitch (5)

 

Megan Dress Love at First Stitch (6)

 

Megan Dress Love at First Stitch (7)

 

Megan Dress Love at First Stitch (8)

 

Megan Dress Love at First Stitch (9)

March, here I come!

 

15 thoughts on “March Into March [ “Megan” Dress].

        1. Omg I have not made a muslin for anything ever. Just plain luck but I do choose styles that have higher chance of fitting me (high waist, semi fitted skirt, higher neckline) or use stretch fabrics and sew a smaller size and let negative ease take care of stuff. Or take in sides slightly mid-production. I’m too lazy for muslins but I may have to do one eventually :s

            1. I’m sure not always…please don’t jinx haha. Being petite (you’d understand…) I’m just staying away from patterns designed for ladies with torsos miles long…

  1. Beautiful job on this dress! Tilly would love your fabric choice. The goldfish are adorable. You should submit it to the TATB maker gallery!!

    1. Thanks Emmy. I actually did submit and also when I made the Delphine skirt a few months ago (don’t think they made it to the gallery, but I didn’t really check) . She must get flooded with entries too! I’m just glad the pattern works out for me :D

Leave a Reply

