The Last Blooms [New Look 6264].

The last blooms…are on my dress. It’s Autumn in Queensland, and although it’s still very warm, the flowers are mostly gone. 

Back to dressmaking…I made this halter neck mullet dress. Now that is something that usually doesn’t belong in my closet…halter neck? Mullet dress? Hardly wear any of them. I’m usually a sleeves and symmetry kind of girl. But the fabric – one of Gertie’s “Garden Rose” designs – has a border print of roses which may work with this pattern, so I gave it a go. The mullet hem made me look quite short, but oh well! Heels to the rescue!

  • Pattern: New Look 6264, “Project Runway”, View A
  • Size made: 4 (sizes 4-16 included)
  • Pattern pieces: 9 for view A
  • Fabric: 100% Polyester, 148cm width, 2m length, bought from Spotlight
  • Modifications: Bodice and skirt pieces all cut on crossgrain to accommodate border design; Topstitched waist ties due to puffiness; Eliminated thread carrier for waist tie
  • New Techniques used: Neck and waist casing; Button loops; Armhole finish with single fold bias tape
New Look 6242. I made the mullet version, which is View A. The other version is maxi-dress.
New Look 6242. I made the mullet version, which is View A (what the model is wearing). The other version is maxi-dress (line drawing).

 

I made View A. Picture from here.
I made View A. Picture from here.

 

It looked like a simple dress but there are 9 pattern pieces :(
It looked like a simple dress but there are 9 pattern pieces :(

 

Tracing and cutting out took a while. Longer than I expected.
Tracing and cutting out took a while. Longer than I expected.

 

Single fold bias tape armhole finish. First time trying...another milestone.
Single fold bias tape armhole finish. First time trying…another milestone.

 

Then I realised I cut the top of bodice at the FOLD LINE for casing. Oops.
Then I realised I cut the top of bodice at the FOLD LINE for casing. Oops. I cut the fabric at the line where my thumb is, but should have cut where my index finger is.

 

Cut another piece and sewn on, with extra seam allowance. BUT! Making this mistake means I get to keep the roses visible instead of being folded inside to make the casing.
So I had to cut another piece and sewn on, with extra seam allowance. BUT! Making this mistake means I get to keep the roses visible instead of being folded inside to make the casing. The Roses were printed flush with the selvage on the fabric.

 

The neckband was a pain to make. It was bulky and wanted to twist on itself.
The neckband was a pain to make. It was bulky and wanted to twist on itself.

 

Back opening and buttons with neckband inserted.
Back opening and buttons with neckband inserted.

 

Last step. OMG
Last step. OMG

 

Finished. The waistline seems to be higher than I expected. I already compensated for the neck casing mistake. Wonder if I did something wrong? The waist elastic position made the dress looked more like empire line/ babydoll than at the natural waist.
Finished. The waistline seems to be higher than I expected. I already compensated for the neck casing mistake. Wonder if I did something wrong? The waist elastic position made the dress looked more like empire line/ babydoll than at the natural waist. But the waist ties are long enough to be wrapped around a few times to create a waist.

 

New Look 6264 Dress (11)

New Look 6264 Dress (12)

New Look 6264 Dress (13)

New Look 6264 Dress (14)

New Look 6264 Dress (15)

New Look 6264 Dress (16)

New Look 6264 Dress (17)

New Look 6264 Dress (18)

New Look 6264 Dress (19)

By the way, Happy Easter! :D 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “The Last Blooms [New Look 6264].

  1. Wow it looks gorgeous and breezy. Pretty print placement and how you tie it at the waist. It doesn’t make you look short I think, I still can’t believe you’re around my height …

    • Always have the camera angled up…whether it’s a person helping to take pics or good ol’ voice activated Samsung :P ….angle it up, up, up!

    • Thanks Carmen. I was taking a risk making that pattern, as it’s not my usual style, but sometimes I guess it’s good to just try something a little different. Well I passed over all the crop top patterns and look how fantastic they look on you :)

Leave a Reply

