Sunburnt Cactus [Simplicity 2406].

The cacti are fine. I’m the one who is sunburnt and now have circles of tan on my shoulders. You will see what I mean.

  • Pattern: Simplicity 2406, Cynthia Rowley design, View B
  • Size made: H5 (sizes 6-14 included), I made size 6
  • Pattern pieces: 6 for view B (omitted sash and pockets)
  • Fabric: Rayon Chirramon (100% Rayon), 125cm wide, 2m length, made in China, bought from Spotlight
  • New Techniques used: Gathered interfaced neckline; Back slit; Sleeves with holes; Thread loops; Attempted pattern matching (fail)
  • Modifications: Eliminated pockets and sash; Shortened hem

 

Simplicity 2406 Dress (1)
Simplicity 2406, Cynthia Rowley design

 

I made View B. Picture from here.
I made View B. Picture from here.

 

I actually like view C (knee length dress with sleeves). I wasn’t sure of the holes-in-shoulders sleeve design. But I wanted each garment I make to have a point of difference. Otherwise they will all look the same. So I talked myself into making view B, the option with shoulder holes. Also there is an optional zip in place of a back slit and I chose to make the slit. So what I made is the same as the main picture on the pattern envelope (but no sash or pockets).Β 

Only 6 pattern pieces.
Only 6 pattern pieces.

 

But many more fabric pieces. Took forever to cut (in my standards...I only have a few hours here and there for crafts on the weekends).
But many more fabric pieces. Took forever to cut (in my standards…I only have a few hours here and there for crafts on weekends). I really did try pattern matching but I don’t think I got it, especially at the back.

 

Gathered, interfaced front neckline.
Gathered, interfaced front neckline.

 

Making the back slit. Interfaced opening.
Making the back slit. Interfaced opening. Initially I thought, “Yessss! No zipper!”, but sewing the back slit took much longer…

 

Finished back slit from the inside.
Finished back slit from the inside.

 

The completely self-faced sleeves. It was nothing like what I imagine sleeves to be. So much twisting and turning through narrow openings. Luckily Simplicity gives good instructions and pictures and I managed to sew them ok.
The completely self-faced sleeves. So much twisting and turning through narrow openings. I had to unpick a few times, but that’s due to my own inexperience. Luckily Simplicity gives good instructions and pictures and I managed to sew them okay in the end.

 

Finished garment. If I don't hem it, it becomes a midi dress. I had to heck a lot off the bottom!
Finished garment. If I didn’t hem it, it would have been a midi dress (I’m on the short side). I had to hack a lot off the bottom! (Pic shows modified length). The bodice width/waist are also quite wide – if I had used a stiffer fabric like on the pattern envelope, it would have been less flattering.

 

SUNBURN TIME!

Simplicity 2406

Simplicity 2406 Dress (10)

Simplicity 2406 Dress (11)

Simplicity 2406 Dress (12)

Simplicity 2406 Dress (13)

Simplicity 2406 Dress (14)

Simplicity 2406 Dress (15)

Simplicity 2406 Dress (16)

It is starting to get a bit cooler, but the Queensland sun is ferocious. Β I did put on sunscreen but I still got dark circles on my shoulders. Oh well, self-inflicted! :P

 

21 thoughts on “Sunburnt Cactus [Simplicity 2406].

  1. Funky fabric! I like that you chose view B. I’ve the same aversion to holes in sleeves but it’s looks so good on you that I might try it out! Definitely worth the risk (and time to self face the sleeves…)!

    • Hi Eli Cat, I’ve been seeing your creations on PR and your blog but for some reason I can’t comment on Blogger websites with my WordPress account. It always comes up as an error, I tried a few times :( Just wanted to say your handmade clothes are gorgeous and photos are always great. See you around! :)

  2. I love cacti (even though I can’t keep them alive) so I am in love with that print! It’s so fun and it looks great in this style. As usual the fit and finishing look awesome. Totally worth those tan circles, I would think!

    • Thanks, I like cacti too but same, they don’t fare too well in my hands :p This is still one of those styles where “I’ll sew a tube and put a belt on it” kind of garment…not much fit to speak of!

  3. Pingback: A dress for cold shoulders… – Self Assembly Required!

Leave a Reply

