Fabric shop in Brisbane – Gardams Fabrics.

In the Brisbane CBD there is a fabric store that stood the test of time. Established in the 1930s, Gardams Fabrics had been trading for a long time. From memory, they had a larger store in another location, and for a little while they moved to a different suburb, but they are still here in the city in a small store. 

  • Address: 288 Edward St, Brisbane QLD 4000 (Edit Sept 2016: they moved to 65 Adelaide St, Brisbane 4000)
  • Websitehttp://www.gardams.com.au/

And I did say small. It is not a big store, but it is at a convenient location if you are in the city or stay around that area.  They stock mostly silks, cottons and evening fabrics.

(Addit: As usual, I am just sharing my experience and love of fabric shops here. No advertising!)

Gardam's Fabrics (1)
Situated close to Red Cross, it is somewhat tucked away, but still on a major, busy road.

 

Old store, no fancy fittings. You walk from the door straight into bolts of fabrics.
Old store, no fancy fittings. You walk from the door straight into bolts of fabrics.

 

There's some space at the back for classes.
There’s some space at the back for classes.

 

Small haberdashery section.
Small haberdashery section.

 

The fabrics are on the more expensive side. But it feels like they are higher quality fabrics.
The fabrics are on the more expensive side. But it feels like they are higher quality fabrics.

 

Lovely customer service. I asked for some sewing advice while purchasing some fabric.
Lovely customer service. I asked for some sewing advice while purchasing some fabric.

 

They wrapped up my fabric nicely, what a nice touch.
They wrapped up my fabric nicely, what a nice touch.

 

I bought this cotton sateen. It feels soft yet sturdy with slight stretch that I think will just skim over lumps and bumps.
I bought this cotton sateen. It feels soft yet sturdy with slight stretch that I think will hold in lumps and bumps yet maintaining softness and shape (I hope it will). There are a few other prints that I wanted to get…but I told myself…stick to the budget…

 

They also have a nice little selection of silks and bridal laces, but are out of my budget at the moment.
They also have a nice little selection of silks and bridal laces, but are out of my budget at the moment.

 

I would go to Gardams for: convenience (if I'm in the city), great customer service, a personal touch, and fabrics that are higher quality.
Add to my stash :)

 

I would go to Gardams for: convenience (if one is in the CBD), great customer service, a personal touch, and a somewhat limited range of higher quality fabrics.

 

Leave a Reply

