A Twisted Affair [Burda 6911].

I made a top/tee. And on its first outing, it went to the beach, caught some sea breeze and watched the sunset. What a life!

  • Pattern: Burda 6911, View A
  • Size made: 8 (sizes 8-20 included)
  • Pattern pieces: 4 for view A
  • Fabric: Cotton jersey (100% cotton), 112cm width, 1m length, made in India, bought from Spotlight
  • Modifications: Shortened hem at waist
  • New Techniques used: Twist-front bodice
Burda 6911. I was inspired by the striped top (View A) on the pattern envelope. I think in hindsight, wider stripes would look better.
Burda 6911. I was inspired by the striped top (View A) on the pattern envelope, so I bought a striped fabric in red to make it. I think in hindsight, wider stripes would look better.

 

I made View A. I actually like View B and C more, but I thought I'd make a short-sleeved T-shirt for starters.
I made View A. I actually like View B and C more, but I thought I’d make a short-sleeved T-shirt for starters. Pic from here.

 

4 pattern pieces.
4 pattern pieces (for View A).

 

Marking dots and numbers on the fabric was important for the subsequent alignment to form the twists.
Marking dots and numbers on the fabric was important for the subsequent alignment to form the twists. Also I’m happy to squeeze it all in one metre of fabric!

 

The instructions were not as detailed as what I'd hoped. I had to play around to get the 'twist' right. Although the pictures helped.
The instructions were not as detailed as I’d hoped, but the pictures helped. I had to play around a fair bit to get the ‘twist’ right. There are reviews and even tutorials out there for this pattern, but I am a little stubborn and always want to try having a go at it first, even if it takes me double, triple the time.

 

I sewed and unpicked and sewed and unpicked again and finally sewed it right.
I sewed and unpicked and sewed and unpicked again and finally sewed it right.

 

This pattern is rated as "Easy" by Burda. And I still had trouble. I know I won't be tackling BurdaStyle magazine or Lelaka or Marfy etc. anytime soon! I still need lots of hand-holding and separate instructions for single steps.
This pattern is rated as “Easy” by Burda. And I still had trouble. I know I won’t be tackling BurdaStyle magazine or Lelaka or Marfy etc. anytime soon! I still need lots of hand-holding and separate instructions for single steps.

 

Finally finished. I had to take a break, dumped it in a corner and come back to it a few weeks later in order to have motivation to finish it.
Nearly finished. I had to take a break, dumped it in a corner and come back to it a few weeks later in order to have motivation to finish it.

 

"The Twist"
“The Twist”

In the midst of frustration, I sewed the side seams a little too much and so it was a bit tight at the waist. I am pear-shaped so the hip area was tight too. I just tucked it into my shorts and off to the beach it goes…

Burda 6911 Twisted Tee (9)

Burda 6911 Twisted Tee (10)

Twisted stripey top (3)b_compressed

Burda 6911 Twisted Tee (12)

Burda 6911 Twisted Tee (13)

Burda 6911 Twisted Tee (14)

Burda 6911 Twisted Tee (15)

Burda 6911 Twisted Tee (16)

We have long summers here. It is FINALLY getting cooler. Now let me dig into my Autumn clothing pattern pile…

 

13 thoughts on “A Twisted Affair [Burda 6911].

    • I’m so happy to see you here!!! ;)
      It’s good for casual wear and it’s comfortable too, with an interesting detail. You’ll like and wear it a lot!

    • Only tricky because of my inexperience, I think. Burda rated this pattern EASY. But knowing Burda….I don’t know, but at least I got it in the end :p

      • Lol. I always find the big pattern companies instructions are a bit lacking in details regardless of how easy or difficult they rate it! You did a really good job with it. I always want to add things to my sewing list after I see you make them!

        • I think one day I’ll take the plunge and order a stack of indie patterns (like you did.. Hehe jealous). I have to sew more from the ones I own (all big 4 ones) first tho!

    • I wanted to have it untucked and worn over a denim skirt, but it’s too tight to do that so have to be tucked! Anyway still wearable :p

Leave a Reply

