Autumn Florals [Simplicity 1801].

Time for Autumn sewing! Actually, it’s supposed to be Winter already, but it is not that cold yet especially during the sunny hours. Looking into my pattern stash, Simplicity 1801 inspired me, with its billowy sleeves, structured midriff and gathered skirt. 

  • Pattern: Simplicity 1801, Cynthia Rowley design, View A
  • Size made: 6 (H5: sizes 6-14 included)
  • Pattern Pieces: 11 for View A after eliminated pockets
  • Fabric: 100% Rayon, 135cm width, 2m length, made in China, bought from Spotlight
  • New Techniques Used: Front & back yoke; Midriff; Side zip; Machine gathering
  • Modifications: Eliminated pockets; Shortened skirt by 11cm
I realised that every Simplicity pattern I've made to date, have been Cynthia Rowley designs.
According to the measurements I’m a size 6 bust, size 10 waist and size 12 hips…but I find that usually for a loose fitting garment, I can go down sizes, so I made a straight size 6.  Also, fellow blogger ChuiChoy from Wear the Ducky Tie made this pattern here and she cut a straight size 6 too and it fitted her well, so I took a chance!

 

I made View A.
I made View A (pic from here), which is same as what the model is wearing on the pattern cover.

 

I wanted to raise the neckline (deep V) by about 5cm, but the corresponding interfacing is a squiggle (on far right of pic) and looked hard to alter, so I left it :P
I wanted to raise the neckline (deep V) by about 5cm, but the corresponding interfacing is a squiggle (on far right of pic) and looked hard to alter, so I left it :P

 

Pieces cut out. I did not bother to pattern match...I thought the print is relatively busy anyway. I am totally lazy! (Actually, I don't really know how to pattern match)
Pieces cut out. I did not bother to pattern match…I thought the print is relatively busy anyway. I am totally lazy! (Actually, I don’t really know how to pattern match on multiple seamlines)

 

I hand-gathered the bottom front shoulder yokes and bottom of front bodice, because I was too scared to try machine gathering...
I hand-gathered the front shoulder yokes and bottom of front bodice, because I was too scared to try machine gathering…

 

I have been really stuck in my old ways and hand-gather everything. This is the first time I tried machine gathering...SO MUCH BETTER!!
And then I forced myself to go out of my comfort zone and tried machine gathering for the first time. IT IS SO MUCH BETTER!! Wear the Ducky Tie’s version as mentioned earlier has pleats instead of gathers – heaven!

 

Bodice done. It is also the first time I tried inserting a side zip. It should theoretically be the same as with a centre back seam, but somehow it came out a bit wonky...
Bodice done. It is also the first time I tried inserting a side zip. It should theoretically be the same as sewing a centre back zip, but somehow it came out a bit wonky…(didn’t take a picture of the eyesore)

 

Finished garment. Yes the neckline is too low for me, and I couldn't find a bandeau to wear underneath so I just wore a necklace to cover it for the photos. Yep I'm a lazy necklace-lover.
Finished garment. The neckline is too low for me, and I couldn’t find my bandeau to wear underneath so I just wore a necklace for coverage. Yep I’m a lazy necklace-lover.

 

Simplicity 1801 Autumn Floral Dress

Simplicity 1801 Autumn Florals Dress (9)

Simplicity 1801 Autumn Florals Dress (10)

Simplicity 1801 Autumn Florals Dress (11)

Simplicity 1801 Autumn Florals Dress (12)

Simplicity 1801 Autumn Florals Dress (13)

Simplicity 1801 Autumn Florals Dress (14)

Simplicity 1801 Autumn Florals Dress (15)

Simplicity 1801 Autumn Florals Dress (16)

Simplicity 1801 Autumn Florals Dress (17)

Autumn is my favourite season (I think I’ve said this about 3 times now), it is just a beautiful time of the year in Queensland when it is warm, dry, with a gentle sun that feel so good on the skin.

 

16 thoughts on “Autumn Florals [Simplicity 1801].

  1. Well, you and your gorgeous dress have just convinced me to buy this pattern! I LOVE your fabric for this dress too: it’s perfect for the shape of the garment. It looks wonderful on you, and the way you styled it is awesome. =)

    • Thank you Marion. To be honest, I’m a stripes over florals kind of person, but matching striped fabrics at the seams is too hard for me at the moment! :P

    • Thanks Carmen! I was going to wear a navy hat (hat addict here…) but the red one feels more Autumn-y. Now your analysis explains why it really was the right choice!

  2. Love this!! Looks so breezy and chic :) Size 6 seems to fit you like a glove. Glad the sizing worked out. I guess if I try to make the same in woven I’d have to size up actually because you are probably skinnier than I am! I had the same issue with the neckline but I think you should be able to raise it for the same way for the facing and the actual fabric? As everyone else mentioned love the way you style all your makes :)

    • I think overall we are both petite but I am quite pear with defined waist (and nothing up the top!). I think you’ll be fine in straight size 6 for the flared skirt (as in, if i am ok, u definitely should be more than ok as my hips are probably wider than yours). Raising the neckline wouldn’t have been too hard if i sat down and do it but I wasn’t feeling up to the challenge at the time, emotional sewing you see. Thanks for inspiration again!

Leave a Reply

