Fabric Shop in Melbourne – Tessuti Fabrics.

I flew to Melbourne with my partner to visit his family and, true to my nature, added fabric shopping to my itinerary. I have stayed in Melbourne CBD a few times previously and had found this fabric shop (Tessuti Fabrics), which I briefly visited but didn’t have enough time. This time I make it my goal to explore the shop properly! 

(As usual, no advertising here… A customer has the clearest, unbiased view.)

They have branches in a few suburbs in Melbourne, and Sydney in Australia.

  • Address
    1. Melbourne City: Upper Ground Floor, 141 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, VIC
    2. Surry Hills, Sydney: 110 Commonwealth St, Surry Hills, NSW
    3. Chatswood, Sydney: 20/369 Victoria Ave, Chatswood, NSW
  • Website: http://tessuti.com.au/

I went to the Melbourne store. Let me show you its deliciousness. I spent about 2 hours in there. It’s not a very big store, so 2 hours is a lot and I probably examined every roll of fabric (that I could reach) twice! The ladies there were very helpful when I had questions.

If I'm not wrong, "Tessuti" means fabric/drapery in Italian.
If I’m not wrong, “Tessuti” means fabric/drapery in Italian.

 

Look for the "Needle and thread" 3D sign that says 141 (their street address).
Look for the “Needle and button” 3D sign that says 141 (their street address). Actually, it’s easy to miss. Just use Google Maps.

 

Walking into happiness.
Walking into happiness.

 

Tessuti Melbourne CBD (4)
I like the shop fitout. It’s a bit rustic, simple, but considered. It feels welcoming and comfortable.

 

Tessuti Melbourne CBD (5)
My dream is to own a fabric shop! But it is very unlikely, because I am in no way a business-minded person. I just love fabric.

 

Tessuti Melbourne CBD (6)
But if I ever have my own actual sewing/art/craft studio, I wouldn’t mind it looking like this!

 

Tessuti Melbourne CBD (8)
Lovely bridal laces. Exquisite!

 

Tessuti Melbourne CBD (9)
I like how rolls and rolls of fabrics are mostly categorised by colour. It is not very practical, but very intuitive. It invites the visitor to look through, explore, touch and discover them individually, rather than classifying them by weave or fabric type. Wools, silks, cottons, man-made fibres are all mixed in there. Colour is intricately linked with emotion and I think they did something right there. It sets the tone for the store. The experience is to be savoured; not merely going in, getting the stuff you need and leave.

 

Tessuti Melbourne CBD (11)

Tessuti Melbourne CBD (10)

Tessuti Melbourne CBD (12)

Tessuti Melbourne CBD (13)

Tessuti Melbourne CBD (7)

And what did I buy? I limited myself to 3. 

First. A panel of cotton with lace-like motifs in a mild blue.
First. A panel of cotton with lace-like motifs in a mild blue.

 

Second. A knit with a cable-knit pattern in grey. I can't knit, so is this knit-look fabric my way of cheating?
Second. A knit with a cable-knit pattern in grey. I can’t knit, so is this knit-look fabric my way of cheating?

 

Third. A cashmere+wool blend with the slightest polymide, in a dark davy (photo looks purple...pic taken in hotel room). If I could afford pure cashmere (double the price of this), I would. Maybe when I get better at sewing, one day. I've never sewn a coat.
Third. A cashmere+wool blend perfect for a winter coat, in a dark navy. If I could afford pure cashmere (double the price of this), I would. Maybe when I get better at sewing. I’ve never sewn a coat!

 

As hard as it is to stuff this into my small luggage, it was worth it :)
As difficult as it was to stuff this into my small luggage, it was worth it :)

 

Couldn't take the bag with me though. Oh well!
Couldn’t take the bag with me though. Oh well!

 

And views of Melbourne city!
And views of Melbourne city!

There are lots of talented sewists and dressmaking bloggers who are from Melbourne. I secretly wished I would run into them at the shop. Actually, I would recognise them on the streets too :P

2 thoughts on “Fabric Shop in Melbourne – Tessuti Fabrics.

  1. I love the lace + cotton fabric!! So unique and pretty! (Also, apparently my mom “knows of” your dad I think… from the Liu village).

    • Yep tho the fabric only comes in a narrow panel and I need to think about how to use that. (wow small world! I guess back then everyone knows of their neighbours, before the concrete jungle days) :)

Leave a Reply

