Cards, Gifts & CAKE!

Now that I’m obsessed with sewing plush and dressmaking, I haven’t been doing much of what originally started my crafting journey – papercraft, stamping, cardmaking, scrapbooking.  I still have so much materials lying around: Papers, embellishments, ribbons, brads, chipboard, stickers…. I feel so bad I haven’t touched them for a while.

Anyway, I did manage to make a few cards, wrap some gifts and bake a cake in the past months (months!! It used to be every few days or weeks…)

A housewarming card
A housewarming card for a lovely couple with young children.

 

A Japanese artisan kitchen knife for a friend who loves cooking.
A Japanese artisan kitchen knife for a friend who loves cooking.

 

A birthday card for my craft buddy (we first got into papercraft and scrapbooking together and would save up for ages to buy materials at craft fairs. Good memories!) I sneaked some sewing in there in the form of zigzag stitches :P
A birthday card for my craft buddy (we first got into papercraft and scrapbooking together and we would save up for months and spend it all at craft fairs. Good memories!) I sneaked some sewing in there in the form of zigzag stitches :P

 

A hard-to-wrap gift (small plush), so into a pretty box it went and embellished with a ribbon. Lazy "craft".
A hard-to-wrap gift (small plush), so into a pretty box it went and embellished with a ribbon. Lazy “crafting”, if you even call it that.

 

Another card for my craft buddy.
Another card for my craft buddy.

 

Not very creative gift-wrapping but I used my logo sticker :D
Not very creative gift-wrapping but I used my logo sticker :D

 

And I baked a chocolate velvet cake! I searched cake decorating online and most results either uses fondant, fresh flowers or edible glitter etc which I'm not too fond of. I ended up randomly placing some chocolate pieces  and fruit on a glaze.
And I baked a chocolate velvet cake! I searched for cake decoration ideas online and most results either use fondant, fresh flowers or edible glitter etc, which I’m not too fond of. I ended up randomly placing some chocolate pieces and fruit on a glaze, with a pinch of cocoa powder on top.

 

I do want to make more cards and use up my papercraft supplies, as my storage real estate becomes more competitive (where MORE fabric can live). But with so many sewing projects in the pipeline and already being time-poor, I seldom feel the motivation to go back to papercraft. I lose sleep over this! Sometimes when this self-inflicted craft dilemma and guilt overwhelms me, I just walk away from it all and go read a book instead! Ha…

6 thoughts on “Cards, Gifts & CAKE!

  1. That’s some great paper crafting/scrapbooking. I’ve tried it in the past and I really don’t have the patience for it but I love looking at your finished pieces!

    • Thanks! My techniques/patience have regressed a lot though. Sewing is more fun nowadays :) Wished I didn’t buy so much materials back then…could have saved the money for fabrics now :p

  2. Haha I feel the same about the other hobbies I tried to pick up before sewing – paint, wood carving, lol.. but the cards look really pretty so many layers and fun colors. And the cake looks pro :)

    • Aw thanks! I always say I wish I started dressmaking way earlier, but I wouldn’t say I regret trying out other crafts! I’ve spent too much money on the materials though (when I’m obsessed with something…)!

  3. Beautiful cards and the cake looks yummy! I really need to get back to scrapbooking/card making. I haven’t really created anything since I had our baby. :) I’m slowly working on getting my craft area organized and running again.

    • Thank you! You must have had a busy and dedicated time to your child, it is lovely. Getting the craft area ready is a very exciting process too!

Leave a Reply

