You Sew, You Learn [New Look 6022].

I made a dress top! 

That just revealed where I made the error. I started out making a dress, and it ended up being a top. Title of the post was inspired by Alanis Morisette’s song “You Learn”, which has been playing in the car (and in my head) lately. Just checked and the recording was released in 1995. Eek. Time flies. 

  • Pattern: New Look 6022, View B with sash from View C
  • Size made: 6-16 included, I made size 6
  • Pattern pieces: 5 for view B + sash
  • Fabric: (a light to medium weight woven fabric with sheen – possibly polyester? Satin? Bought too many years ago to remember), 140cm width, 1.5m length, (unknown place of manufacture), bought from Lincraft
  • New Techniques Used: Cap sleeves; Single bias tape sleeve finish; Back elastic
  • Modifications: Topstitched sash; Dress made into top (“unintentional modification”)
New Look 6022. I made View B with the sash from View C.
New Look 6022.

 

Pic from here.
I made View B (cap sleeves option) with the sash from View C. The garment has no darts and no interfacing. Pic from here.

 

5 pattern pieces. There was no interfacing for this garment.
5 pattern pieces including the sash.

 

I tried pattern matching but it wasn't successful, AGAIN :(
I tried pattern matching but it wasn’t really successful, AGAIN. The side checks didn’t match up, but the design wasn’t too defined so the misalignment wasn’t too obvious (to me).

 

Back elastic. I don't think I stretched the elastic evenly over the fabric when I stitched it down.
Back elastic. I don’t think I stretched the elastic evenly over the fabric when I stitched it down.

 

I had the best intentions. I cut and sewn the dress as is/was.
I had the best intentions. I cut and sewn the dress as is/was.

 

And the back. So what went wrong?
And the back. I made the back neck opening and thread loop/button and all, but it wasn’t necessary. The scoop neck was very wide and I can just pull it over my head without undoing the button.

 

I was distracted and rushed and cut a hole in the garment. WHAT. THE. I kept yelling at myself, "omg omg omg are you stooopid??"
All was well. THEN…I was distracted and rushed and cut a hole in the garment. WHAT. THE. I kept shrieking at myself, “Omg omg omg are you stooopid?? Noooooooooooo whyyyyyyyyy”

 

After the initial shock and the calming effect of some chocolates and walking away from the project for half a day... it must go on. Sadface though. Time to do the sleeves.
After the initial shock and the calming effect of some chocolate and walking away from the project for half a day… it must go on. Sadface though. Time to do the sleeves.

 

Single fold bias tape finish for armhole.
Single fold bias tape finish for armhole. Just cotton ones bought from Spotlight.

 

I tried mending the slit but it looked terrible. So I just hacked the whole bottom portion off. I would have loved it to be a dress, but oh well, I can wear it as a top now. Bonus sash.
I tried mending the slit but it looked terrible. So I just hacked the whole bottom portion off. I would have loved it to be a dress, but oh well, I can wear it as a top now. I added topstitching to the sash, which turned out to be quite meh. Too hard to make the hem not twist. But I was verging towards not-care territory by then.

 

In the spirit of the failed purple dress, I took out my purple (RTW) skirt to go with the top, so the original purple all-over look would be preserved…somewhat.

 

New Look 6022 top (11)

New Look 6022 top (12)

New Look 6022 top (13)

New Look 6022 top (14)

New Look 6022 top (15)

 

New Look 6022 top (16)

New Look 6022 top (17)

Better be more careful next time. I was taught not to run with scissors as a kid. I learned that as an adult, even sitting down with scissors can cause problems…

 

19 thoughts on “You Sew, You Learn [New Look 6022].

  1. Your top is lovely even if it was to be a dress!
    I made the exact mistake with pinking shears on the bodice of my new dress…it became a muslin then!

    1. Thanks. Luckily the cut was in the hip area so it can be salvaged as a top. Sorry about your dress! Was it possible to make it into a skirt? Or save the fabric for smaller projects.

      1. No, sadly, it was €3 IKEA fabric thankfully, it began as a toile, became successful, returned to toile!

  2. I felt your pain when you cut into that fabric! That horrible sinking feeling when you realised what’s just happened is not a good one… Still, it looks good as a blouse!

  3. Oh no! Haha seeing that picture with the hole made me break a little on the side. That’s a big hole! Props to you for being calm and making it work. It looks really good as a top and paired with that skirt. I’ve never finished the inside of a sleeve like that, interesting. Looks so polished.

    1. It must have folded onto itself and caught underneath when I was trimming the hem. I thought the fabric felt “thick” for 1s and realised what I’ve done. I wasn’t that calm, but better after some chocolate haha! I just followed the instructions for the armhole :p

    1. Yes, left from the previous owner! Haha it’s fun for kids but too small for my butt. The width of the “seat” is literally that of a car tyre! (Previous owner was an older lady with a cat, maybe it’s a cat swing?)

    1. Thanks! I guess only I really know it was supposed to be a dress. I saved the offcut, maybe it can line a pocket or used to make a corsage /other accessory one day :)

  4. Well, this looks really cute as a top, so there’s that! I would never have known it wasn’t supposed to be a top originally. The fabric is so beautiful! I love it with a matching sash and with your purple skirt. (I’m actually thinking I need a skirt like that after seeing yours, hehe!)

    I feel your pain at cutting a hole in your work…that happened to me last weekend and it’s so demoralizing. (I am making sharks for a friend to give to her grandchildren for their birthdays–not a great time to make that kind of error!!) I was able to disassemble what I had done so far, buy more fabric, and re-cut the necessary pieces, but ugh. I went to bed angry that night, that’s for sure!

    1. Thanks Mads, for the encouraging words :) I do love the fabric too and thus was even more sad when I made the mistake.
      Wow your sharks are extra extra special and the recipients better appreciate the extent of effort and time that goes into them as well as the final awesome product!

  5. Oh no! It’s really devastating when this kind of stuff happens, I also managed to cut a hole in an almost finished garments once… your top looks great though so I think everything turned out fine?

Leave a Reply

