The Seven-Year Non-Itch & Lessons from Mother.

My very first post was published 7 years ago today on this blog! Which means, Happy 7th Blogiversary for me and my little space!

Seven years ago I was on the cusp of major change. Life was on hold and uncertain, dreams on a leash, hopes aflame. I decided to start this website as an outlet and therapy, to stay true to myself and my interests, and to document the process.

I have written 280 posts since. This is the 281st. Not a lot. I don’t know exactly how many things I’ve made since the beginning – while most posts are about completed work, some contained multiple projects. It doesn’t matter, as long as I enjoyed it. And I did, have, and still am.

There is no itch at all to stop crafting! I might have jumped from one medium to another (stamping/cardmaking/scrapbooking/papercraft/sewing/dressmaking etc), but I still savour the joy of creative pursuits. Productivity decreases as life gets busy and responsibilities increase, but hey, this is just a hobby of mine after all. I’m grateful to have had the luxury of time and resources to make what I have made, to have my beloved family and friends to gift to, and to have met like-minded people (and if you are reading this, thank you).

My inspiration: my late mother! I have mentioned her a few times here, and although she had been away from me for most of my life (lovingly watching over me from above), I aspire to live creatively and courageously like she had. 

She painted. I've posted about some of her artworks here.
She painted and sketched. I’ve posted about some of her artworks here.

 

She made and modelled her handmade garments.
She made and modelled her DIY garments.

 

She played the piano.
She played the piano.

 

Life lessons gained from looking at her pictures:

Laugh. And share with loved ones.
Laugh. A lot. And share with loved ones.

 

Take time to document life's precious moments.
Take time to document life’s precious moments.

 

Forget dieting - eat all the food!!
Forget dieting – eat whatever you want!!

 

Fight. For your beliefs, values, rights, opportunities, passion, happiness. Be fair and square.
Fight. For your beliefs, values, rights, opportunities, passion, happiness. Be fair and square.

 

Take part in the development and nurturing of others.
Take part in the development and nurturing of others.

 

Look back and reflect, and be happy with who you are.
Look back and reflect, learn from the past. Be strong.

 

Follow your heart. Love always wins.
Follow your heart. Love always, always wins. (Hi Dad!)

 

See the world and expand your horizons.
See the world and expand your horizons.

 

Look into your own mind, be happy with who you are or do something about it.
Look into your own mind. Be happy with who you are or do something about it.

 

Hold on, and go through the seasons together.
Hold on, and go through the seasons together.

 

Be kind, where true beauty lies.
Be kind and dignified, for true beauty lies therein.

 

Miss you, Mami.

Here’s to seven years and beyond.

 

13 thoughts on “The Seven-Year Non-Itch & Lessons from Mother.

    1. oh yea it’s Blogiversary not blogoversary haha, I’ll have to go back and change it :p
      Thank you Carmen, they are my fave pics of her! My craft productivity is really low at the moment though! Love seeing your posts too :)

  1. Congrats on making it to 7 years! Those photos of your mum are truly amazing!! She’s beautiful! I’m sure she’d be super proud of your sewing/crafting skills!

  2. Can’t believe you’ve been blogging for 7 years – so much commitment :) And how awesome that your mom also made and modeled her garments. I think the best life lesson though is don’t diet eat whatever you want hahah

    1. Yeh I wish she could teach me dressmaking instead of me frumbling around, trial and error! And you are exactly right…eat all the foodz!! :D

  3. A beautiful and meaningful post. Your parents are gorgeous. Congratulations on this anniversary. You inspired me to stay with it! I LOVE all your photos. Don’t ever stop sharing. Nelusha – your friend in Canada

Leave a Reply

