East Meets Greece [Vogue 8898].

I’m not even going to pretend to be able to say ‘Hello’ in Greek. I still couldn’t, even after spending 2 weeks there some time ago.

In preparation for my Greece trip, I have sewn a grand total of….ONE garment to wear there. Boo. I had aimed for three, but alas, life has been crazy and busy. Oh well, one is better than none.

I had originally wanted to make a Grecian inspired dress – a white, one shouldered, fluid-y, maxi-length concoction. But the more I think about it, the more cliche it is to wear that in the country especially as a tourist. So instead I used a pattern with an asymmetrical design. I still used white as the base colour, and it was not until after I’ve finished the dress that I realised the print has an oriental feel to it. So, East meets West it is.

  • Pattern: Vogue 8898, I used elements from all views: View A length + View B shoulder tie + View C hole-in-waist design (sans sash as I used a belt)
  • Size made: Size Y (x-small to med included). I made x-small
  • Pattern pieces: 3 (I cut the pattern for sash but didn’t use it. Four pieces if include sash)
  • Fabric used: Polyester knit (92% polyester, 8% spandex), 147cm width, 1.5m length, made in China, bought from Spotlight
  • New Techniques used: Interfaced sash opening (like a buttonhole) and handsewn
  • Modifications: Moved sash opening 3cm towards midline; Moved armhole from shoulder to side seam; Shortened length 5cm at lower hem; Topstitched drape-y side seam.
Vogue 8898 and my fabric.
Vogue 8898 and my fabric.

 

I made View A length + View B shoulder tie + View C sash opening at waist combination.
I made View A length + View B shoulder tie + View C sash opening at waist combination.

 

My happiest/worst habit: eating chocolate while tracing patterns...
My best/worst habit: eating chocolate while tracing patterns. My favourite pattern weights.

 

4 pieces here including the sash. I didn't make the sash in the end as I wore a belt instead. So only 3 pieces for this dress!
Four pieces here including the sash. I didn’t make the sash in the end as I wore a belt instead. So only 3 pieces for this dress!

 

4 pieces here including the sash. I didn't make the sash in the end as I wore a belt instead. So only 3 pieces for this dress!
I even cut out the 2 pieces of fabric for the sash, but decided against sewing it because the waist needs more contrast.

 

Shoulder pleats sewn.
Shoulder pleats sewn (wrong side shown here).

 

Making the sash opening - essentially a buttonhole. I cut out a rectangular piece of iron-on interfacing as instructed, but in the future I will cut a circular piece as I feel rounded edges don't peel off the fabric as easily as sharp corners.
Making the sash opening – essentially a buttonhole. I cut out a rectangular piece of iron-on interfacing as instructed, but in the future I will cut a circular piece as I feel rounded edges don’t peel off the fabric as easily as sharp corners.

 

I wasn't feeling up to trying the buttonhole function in my sewing machine, so I did it by hand. Puckering...
I wasn’t feeling up to trying the buttonhole function in my sewing machine, so I did it by hand. Puckering…

 

The "modification" (accidental...) I made. I sewed the armhole on the sideseam. The effect is such that there is less bulk of fabric under the arm. Which is a good thing for me, as I have short arms.
The “modification” (accidental…) I made. I sewed the armhole on the sideseam. The effect is such that there is less bulk of fabric under the arm. Which is a good thing for me, as I have short arms.

 

Einstein quote: “If a cluttered desk is a sign of a cluttered mind, of what, then, is an empty desk a sign?”
Einstein quote: “If a cluttered desk is a sign of a cluttered mind, of what, then, is an empty desk a sign?”

 

Finished garment. I didn't sew the sash as I wanted the waist to be more defined. I tried a red ribbon...
Finished garment. I top-stitched the “wing” seam to add structure and definition, as my fabric is quite fluid and the fold doesn’t hold and looks like a circular tube otherwise. I didn’t sew the sash as I wanted the waist to be more defined. I tried a red ribbon…

 

...a green sash... (I am demonstrating the "optimal arm lift" here. Too bad I can't walk around like this all day, haha)
…and a green sash…but I chose a gold belt in the end for the Grecian touch.
(Here I am demonstrating the “optimal arm lift” here to highlight the asymmetrical under-arm wing . Too bad I can’t walk around like this all day, haha)

 

And where did I wear this dress? In Cape Sounion, at the Temple of Poseidon, in the Attica Peninsula in Greece. (On the left is the private beach of our hotel, and the temple is on the hill)
I wore this dress to Cape Sounion, at the Temple of Poseidon, in the Attica Peninsula in Greece. (On the left is the private beach of our hotel, and the temple is on top of the hill)

 

Vogue 8898 dress (13)

Vogue 8898 dress (14)

Vogue 8898 dress (15)

"I will just make the opening in the middle of the shoulder tie and no one will see it" - and you can CLEARLY see my shoddy handiwork there :P
“I will just make the opening in the middle of the shoulder tie and no one will see it” – and you can CLEARLY see my shoddy handiwork there. You can also see the swarm of freckles creeping up my arm – we walked in the fierce sun for hours every day, and I have gotten quite a tan after the trip too.

 

Vogue 8898 dress (17)

Vogue 8898 dress (18)
Temple of Poseidon, built circa 440BC, on Cape Sounion.

 

Vogue 8898 dress (19)

Vogue 8898 dress (20)

 

Vogue 8898 dress (21)

Vogue 8898 dress (22)
View from the cape – beautiful sunset over the Aegean Sea.

 

We also went to Athens, Delphi, Olympia, Nafplio, Mycenae, Corinth, Marathonas and Santorini in Greece. I wish I had made something to wear to each city!

11 thoughts on “East Meets Greece [Vogue 8898].

  1. I always look forward to your new posts. The fabric you’ve used is so gorgeous. I love the little pops of color. I can’t believe you made your button-hole by hand. Don’t be afraid of your button-hole maker! Your vacation photos are a perfect backdrop for this one-of-a-kind gorgeous handmade dress. This is a pattern that I probably would not have been drawn to, but after seeing it on you I’ll have to keep my eyes peeled for it at the next pattern sale. Kudos!

    1. Thanks Carmen! I must try the machine buttonhole function one day! Haven’t been feeling experimental lately. I so wish the fabric is in silk not polyester, but still I like the print too :)

  2. Haha I love your thought process and not wanting to look like a crazy tourist. These pictures and the dress are beautiful!! Funny that the armhole thing worked out. Looking elegant and breezy :)

Leave a Reply

