Fabric Shop in Melbourne – Clegs Fabrics.

I was in Melbourne again about a month ago, and visited another fabric shop there (besides eating ourselves silly and falling in love with the city every single time).

Clegs fabrics used to have a branch in the city centre, and in the past I have gone there a few times, but I didn’t take any pictures back then. The city store has since closed, so this time we took the tram all the way to the suburbs to have my Clegs fix :P

(As usual, the sole purpose of all my fabric shop posts is to share my experience and joy)

 

Store front.
Store front.

 

I think the fitout isn't impressive, but then, fabric shops don't need to "attract" customers walking past - those who sew will seek it out, those who don't won't go in no matter how nice the shop looks, haha!
I think the fitout isn’t impressive, but then, fabric shops don’t need to “attract” customers walking past – those who sew will seek it out, those who don’t won’t go in no matter how nice the shop looks, isn’t it?

 

Equal parts knits, wovens and evening/bridal fabrics.
Equal parts knits, wovens and evening/bridal fabrics.

 

I'll have to say, I think the city store used to have better fabrics. It could be a seasonal thing though.
I’d have to say, I think the city store used to have better fabrics. It could be a seasonal thing though.

 

Delicious laces.
Delicious laces.

 

Lots of plain jerseys and knits. I always overlook plain fabrics, but they are the real hero when the pattern has draping and/or details that would otherwise get lost in a print.
Lots of plain jerseys and knits. I always overlook plain fabrics, but they are the real hero when the pattern has draping and/or details that would otherwise get lost in a print.

 

Some prints.
Some prints.

 

We didn't spend too much time there. I bought some soft, fluid bamboo jersey.
We didn’t spend too much time there. I bought some soft, fluid bamboo jersey.

 

The shop bag goes with my monochromatic bedsheet (my beloved Florence Broadhurst design - I got them in several colours)
The shop bag goes with my monochromatic bedsheet (my beloved Florence Broadhurst design – I got them in several colours)

 

The first spring blooms are out, although it was still quite cold in Melbourne!
The first spring blooms were out, although it was still quite cold in Melbourne! This was just opposite from Cleg’s, I was still holding the shopping bag…

 

Bloom where you are planted!
Bloom where you are planted!

 

Too many fabric shops, too little time…

 

Leave a Reply

