‘Tis the Season to Shine [Self-drafted sequin skirt].

When should one make an impractical, shiny, sparkly piece of garment? The silly season, of course!

I made a skirt out of sequined fabric. Not the heat-bonded type, but the individually stitched on type. Which, as I find out, is my absolutely least favourite fabric to sew! I tried removing the sequins at the seam line before I sew, but ended up having a visible gap. I stitch any closer, the sequins get caught in the machine needles, and I broke 2 needles. In the end I just hand-stitched it.

  • Pattern: Self-drafted, loosely based on RTW garment
  • Size made: Custom
  • Pattern pieces: 1
  • Fabric used: Stretch sequin fabric, origin unknown, less than 1m needed, bought from Lincraft
  • New Technique used: Sewing sequin fabric (not much luck with machine)
  • Modifications: N/A

(Edit: I found more photos from my old laptop and added them here)

An RTW skirt to be used to make the pattern, and an old T-shirt to be cut up and used as skirt lining.
An RTW skirt to be used to make the pattern, and an old T-shirt to be cut up and used as skirt lining.

 

I took a RTW skirt that fits me, traced around it and added seam allowance.
I traced around the skirt and added seam allowance.

 

Just one pattern piece - I traced around a RTW skirt and added seam allowance all the way around. (The 'pattern weights' are my husband's model train tracks...)
Just one pattern piece. The front and back piece is the same, no darts as I rely on negative ease with a stretch fabric. I used my husband’s model train tracks as pattern weights :P

 

My sparkly notebook and the sequin fabric for the skirt.
My sparkly notebook and the sequin fabric for the skirt.

 

The front and back pieces cut out.
The front and back pieces cut out.

 

I made a 'lining' with an old T-shirt. I made it slightly smaller than the outer skirt by using the same pattern but sewing more seam allowance.
I made a ‘lining’ with the old T-shirt. I made it slightly smaller than the outer skirt by using the same pattern but sewing more seam allowance (the left side seam of the outer skirt has already been sewn in this pic).

 

I made such a mess with sequins falling everyyyyywhere.
I made such a mess with sequins falling everyyyyywhere.

 

Sew the side seams, made the 'waistband' by folding it in and stitching, while catching the lining - then it is done.
Sew the side seams, made the ‘waistband’ by folding it in and stitching, while catching the lining – then it is done. The hem was left raw.

 

diy-sequin-skirt-5

diy-sequin-skirt-6

diy-sequin-skirt-7

diy-sequin-skirt-8

diy-sequin-skirt-9

diy-sequin-skirt-10

diy-sequin-skirt-11

 

Christmas is fast approaching – hope everyone will have a festive, happy time spending with their loved ones during this holiday season.

 

15 thoughts on “‘Tis the Season to Shine [Self-drafted sequin skirt].

Leave a Reply

