Flashing Tooth Sign.

I made a flashing neon sign for my colleague’s birthday!

I have posted this on Instagram already, but here’s the making of. It was really fun to make.

I bought this kit from Typo. There is a bigger size available, and the flashing light is white for that one. Pink for this.
I bought this kit from Typo. There is a bigger size available, and the flashing light is white for that one. Pink for this.

 

The kit includes the mounted black canvas, pink light tubing (batteries not included), switch, pen, drawing guide and elastics.
The kit includes the mounted black canvas, pink light tubing (batteries not included), switch, pen, drawing guide, awl, needle and elastics.

 

I changed the design from the original bleeding heart to a molar. Many dentists love everything tooth-related, my friend included!
I changed the design from the original bleeding heart to a molar. Many dentists love everything tooth-related, my friend included! So basically using the awl you poke holes around your design where you want the elastic to hold.

 

I thought the tooth looked a bit bare, so I added the word ‘LOVE’ inside it.

 

Back of the canvas, ready for the tubing and elastic.
Back of the canvas, ready for the tubing and elastic.

 

Feed the tubing through and secure with elastic.
Feed the tubing through and secure with elastic.

 

Nearly there. I thought it looked a bit bare, so I added the word 'LOVE' inside the tooth.
Nearly there.

 

I also bought this badge to go with it!
I also bought this badge to go with it!

 

After securing the excess tubing at the back of canvas, it is DONE! This is in its unlit state.
After securing the excess tubing at the back of canvas, it is DONE! This is in its unlit state.

 

And lit up, flashing in various frequencies!
And lit up!

 

ACTION! It has 3 settings: Slow, Fast, and OFF.
ACTION! It has 4 settings: ON, Slow, Fast, and OFF. All the settings are used while filming this clip. (The original video was in mp4 format and I had to convert it to gif to post on WordPress, and the frequency is a bit off ~)

 

It only took a few hours to make, not too long. My friend likes it, so it’s all worth it!

 

5 thoughts on “Flashing Tooth Sign.

  1. Teeheehee, dentist art… I love it! They just opened their first Typo in London. I wonder if I could get that kit here? It’s such a good idea!

    • Hey Emily, hehe (knowing smile), I love Typo and all the kitsch stuff they have. Hope they have that kit there, can make it into anything, really! I was contemplating a sewing machine for myself, but a flashing sign is probably not good for my eyes if I want to sew. Hey, I have trouble commenting on your new site, still trying to work it out!

      • Yeah, I switched to a self hosted WordPress site and didn’t realise that that takes out the ability to comment through the wordpress reader. You have to go onto the actual site now to comment I think. 😕

  2. I love this so much! I think a visit to Typo is in my future. If only I’d read this earlier since I walked past Typo when late night shopping earlier this evening!

Leave a Reply

