Look to the Light [Butterick 5878].

First handmade garment of the year, and it’s already February! My goal to sew more isn’t going that well…but we all start somewhere :P

The reason I chose this pattern to make was simple. I accidentally bought two of the same paper patterns during sales, so I decided I’ll try for the very first time to cut straight into the tissue paper instead of tracing. The relaxed fit reassured me that minimal adjustment or grading would be needed.

  • Pattern: Butterick 5878, I made View B
  • Size made:  A5 (sizes 6-14 included). I made size 6
  • Pattern pieces: 8 for view B (total 11 pieces in envelope)
  • Fabric used: 100% Rayon, 135cm width, 1.5m length (really should need 2m), made in Thailand, bought from Spotlight
  • Trim used: 6m (used about 4-5m in the end) scallop lace trim from Lincraft
  • New Techniques used: Making yoke facing; Elasticated sleeves
  • Modifications: Shortened skirt tiers – middle panel by 4.5cm, bottom panel by 5.5cm. Reduced sleeve length 7cm. Altered lace trim placement.
Butterick 5878. I made View B, which is the white one second from the right on the envelope picture.
Butterick 5878. I made View B, which is the white one second from the right on the envelope picture.

 

View B has mid-length sleeves, and 3 tiers on the bottom.
View B has mid-length sleeves, and 3 gathered tiers on the bottom. All of the views have bodice with front and back yokes and wrap bodice. Pic from here

 

8 pattern pieces for view B.
8 pattern pieces for view B.

 

The front and back yokes have self-facings that get slip-stitched into place.
The front and back yokes have self-facings that get slip-stitched into place.

 

Bodice constructed.
Bodice constructed.

 

Sleeves with gathers at the shoulder and elastic on the bottom.
Sleeves with gathers at the shoulder and elastic on the bottom.

 

Top half done! I used a red-and-blue scallop edge trim to match the fabric. I also decided to put them on the wrap front hems instead of along the yoke seams, which would have obscured the little gathers I painstakingly made!
Top half done! I used a red-and-blue scallop edge trim to match the fabric. I also decided to put them on the wrap front hems instead of along the yoke seams, which would have obscured the little gathers I painstakingly made! I also added a metal snap at the ‘V’ where it crosses over.

 

Bottom 2 skirt tiers. I don't like gathering...soldier on...
Bottom 2 skirt tiers. I don’t like gathering…soldier on…

 

Finished skirt portion.
Finished skirt portion.

 

Elasticated waist. The Elastic was hidden in the seam allowance.
Elasticated waist. The Elastic was hidden in the seam allowance.

 

Completed garment. Phew, totally ran out of steam somewhere in the middle. Glad it's finished.
Completed garment. Phew, totally ran out of steam somewhere in the middle. Glad it’s finished. I placed the trim only at the bottom, not between the tiers as suggested by View B. I shortened the tiers (for my height) and thus the lace would have been very close together and unflattering if I followed the original design.

 

We took a mini road trip to the sunflower fields in the countryside…

b5878-12-a

 

butterick-5878-12

 

butterick-5878-13

 

butterick-5878-14

 

butterick-5878-15

 

butterick-5878-16

 

butterick-5878-17

 

butterick-5878-18 butterick-5878-19

 

butterick-5878-20
“Keep your face toward the sunshine and shadows will fall behind you.” ~ Walt Whitman

 

butterick-5878-21

 

butterick-5878-22

 

I have another project in the works…let’s see how that goes. 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Look to the Light [Butterick 5878].

  1. You have made a very lovely summery dress! I love how you have placed the lace. Even with longer skirt parts, I think it would have been too much. Enjoy your lovely dress!

    • Thanks! That’s true! Unless using those narrow cotton crochet trims, then would be ok to be placed at every panel perhaps.

    • Aw thank you! The line drawings let us see the pattern details without being distracted by the fabric print though! I haven’t sewn a solid colour garment yet!

  2. This is so pretty and girly! I like your combination of that coloured lace with your fabric. Also those sunflowers look amazing!

  3. So pretty! I like how you chose to shorten it and added the lace, it looks much cuter than the pattern drawings. And of course gorgeous pics as usual! The sunflower field is so pretty, I like the smiley face flower a lot haha

    • I have no choice but to shorten every pattern I make 😂😥 haha. Thanks! Yea the smiley face to me means, when I ‘ve past my peak and lost the petals, I can still smile! Lol 😁

Leave a Reply

