Ruffle Me Up [Simplicity 2497].

This dress is probably my longest-running UFO. I started it more than a year ago, traced the pattern and cut the fabric, and had not touched it since.  Up until last month when I finally decided to sew it, as it was taking up precious space in my fabric cupboard.

Simplicity 2497 is an OOP pattern (it wasn’t OOP when I bought it in Spotlight!). Given that I sew so slowly, with endless distractions/responsibilities, by the time I sew my patterns, I’m not surprised if most of them are out of print or out of fashion. Neck ruffles, if I remember correctly, were trendy a few years ago. Maybe not now, but I don’t care….On the topic of trends – I don’t follow trends much – but even if I wanted to, I’d have no hope of sewing them. By the time I finish it, trend will be over. Maybe by a few years. I bought some off-the-shoulder patterns last season ( I like the style regardless of trend), but now it’s all about the sleeves…so my attitude is, just sew whatever.

  • Pattern: Simplicity 2497, a Cynthia Rowley design, View D
  • Size made:  D5 (sizes 4-12 included). I made size 4
  • Pattern pieces: 7 for view D (after eliminating pockets)
  • Fabric used: Polyester crepe,135cm width, 3m length, bought on my Japan trip
  • New Techniques used: Sewing princess seams; Using rolled hem
  • Modifications: Raised neckline at lowest point by 5cm; Eliminated pockets; Reduced bodice sides by 5cm total; Used rolled hem instead of narrow hem for neck ruffle
Simplicity 2497. Lots of beautiful versions on the internet. I decided to use an oriental print textured crepe I bought in Japan in 2015.

 

I made View D, which has neck ruffle, side split, maxi length, and sleeveless. Pic from here.

 

Seven pattern pieces for View D (no pocket).

 

The skirt length chewed up quite a bit of fabric.

 

More than a year has lapsed between the last picture and this! Finally made up the bodice.

 

The gathered waist fits into an interfaced waist band with self-facing slip-stitched into place on the wrong side. It’s not very straight…but I think no one will notice when worn :P

 

Machine gathered, then hand-basted the neck ruffle by hand. My mannequin is so useful.

 

It took a while to get the ruffle (almost) evenly spread.

 

The back. The ruffle width is very wide/tall, and the fabric is soft, so the top portion will flop down when I wear it.

 

Done. The weight of the skirt fabric drags the waist band down. I wonder if I should have used a heavier iron-on interfacing, or made a waist stay?

 

We went to a historic, heritage mansion. It’s beautiful there.

 

I love hydrangeas. Plenty in the garden.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

