Dressmaking Scrapbook Vol. 1

I have done proper scrapbooking in the past (they are on my Gallery page under ‘Scrapbooking‘), with fancy papers and embellsihments. It is a really time-consuming hobby, and also after discovering dressmaking, I’ve lost motivation for scrapbooking a bit.

However, I’ve decided to make a simple scrapbook to document my dressmaking projects. I drew them using templates from aΒ FashionaryΒ book (I’m not affiliated with them), and made paper envelopes to house my traced patterns. I added a swatch of fabric with metal studs.

Here is my first Dressmaking Scrapbook, Volume ONE. It documents the first 20 handmade garments I’ve completed. You can click on the link at the bottom of each pic to see the post of each item.

 

 

 

Full post here.

 

Full post here.

 

Full post here.

 

Full post here.

 

Full post here.

 

Full post here.

 

Full post here.

 

Full post here.

 

Full post here.

 

Full post here.

 

Full post here.

 

Full post here.

 

Full post here.

 

Full post here.

 

Full post here.

 

Full post here.

 

Full post here.

 

Full post here.

 

Full post here.

 

Full post here.

 

That was fun! Both the dressmaking and the scrapbooking. It’s great to combine two crafts, the process and result is always satisfying. I’ve already started Volume Two! But it will take a long while to fill up. At the moment I’m only sewing maximum one garment per month.

 

9 thoughts on “Dressmaking Scrapbook Vol. 1

  1. I love your scrapbook! I, too, am a scrapbooker! I made one sewing book and meant to start working on the second but haven’t found time. What are you putting in the envelopes on each page?

    • The envelopes were cut from scrapbooking cardstock and house the traced and altered version of the pattern. I keep the original pattern tissue untouched in its original envelope together with all other patterns! I hope I get to see your Scrapbook one day if you post it!

  2. You are such an artist!! Love the drawings and the pieces of fabric plus photos. What are the envelopes on the left of every project? Does that hold the actual pattern?

    • Yes yes the envelope holds the traced, altered (if I did) patterns – which is tissue paper for the last 20 projects. As you know I’ve switched to proper tracing paper recently. I hope they still fit into envelopes. How do you store the traced patterns? Together with original pattern or separately?

Leave a Reply

